Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-01-2012, 07:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

Water well pumps


Is there a switch or something that I can get to shut my pump off so that I don't have to go to my breaker box every time? I don't have a holding tank and I'm gonna use it for irrigation only

g_newport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 07:47 PM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,627
Default

Water well pumps


if it is 208V just break one leg with a heavy duty service switch,if you want to kill both legs and have protection a starter with overloads and stop/start push buttons

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to biggles For This Useful Post:
g_newport (07-01-2012)
Old 07-01-2012, 08:00 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Water well pumps


It's a 220v. Is there a control box I can get to where when I turn the hose on the pump starts and when I turn the hose off the pump shuts off by itself.
g_newport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 08:20 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,947
Default

Water well pumps


Quote:
Originally Posted by g_newport View Post
It's a 220v. Is there a control box I can get to where when I turn the hose on the pump starts and when I turn the hose off the pump shuts off by itself.
Install a pressure switch and expansion tank.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
g_newport (07-01-2012)
Old 07-01-2012, 08:21 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Water well pumps


Yea I was hoping there was another way.
g_newport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 08:23 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,947
Default

Water well pumps


Quote:
Originally Posted by g_newport View Post
Yea I was hoping there was another way.
I wouldn't start and try reinventing the wheel at this point.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (07-01-2012)
Old 07-01-2012, 11:11 PM   #7
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,547
Default

Water well pumps


Quote:
Originally Posted by g_newport View Post
Yea I was hoping there was another way.
It's a cheap, easy, and very well tested solution. It's how every normal well pump installation works. There are other solutions (VFD's and PID controllers, for example), but they are not well suited to this kind of installation.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 07:00 AM   #8
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,627
Default

Water well pumps


if the well pump holds anytype of pressure after shut down between the impeller and that shut off valve....a pressuretrol tapped into the pressured line will work.so when you open the valve the pressure drops and the pump runs.might have to break the power feed to the pump into 24Vs with a contactor and transformer to take that amp draw on starts...
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 04:01 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 21
Default

Water well pumps


Starting and stopping(short cycling), is a cause of early pump motor failure. Try to design your system to minimize starts.
JACK HOTTEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 04:51 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 29
Default

Water well pumps


Quote:
Originally Posted by g_newport View Post
Yea I was hoping there was another way.

There is. http://www.watergroup.com/pumps/pump-mascontrol.htm

Works Great
regularguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 11:34 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Default

Water well pumps


My well pump wont turn on, I checked with a multimeter at the pressure switch. I have 239 volts on both sides of the switch. The weird part is the contacts remain closed with the power on and off. But no water. what could it be?
kz8591 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 07:46 AM   #12
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,459
Default

Water well pumps


240 volts going to the pump and not water could be bad pump. Could be bad wires to the pump. Could be phantom voltage reading with digital meter.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inline water filter for built-in fridge (water supply line on top) Druidia Appliances 5 03-10-2012 12:05 AM
Grossly insufficient water supply to toilet wasting water? mysterylectric Plumbing 8 01-17-2012 11:19 AM
Solar hot water indatom123 Green Home Improvement 0 12-19-2010 12:01 AM
A blocked water line causing water to loose heat? Snav Plumbing 6 05-07-2010 02:18 PM
How Do I Properly Shock Chlorinate a Water Softner classicflytyer Plumbing 5 07-14-2009 12:15 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.