Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-18-2011, 08:12 PM   #16
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,352
Share |
Default

washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
I copied this from the manual. It says the dryer only needs a 15A breaker.
15 Amp @ 240 Volts = 3600 Watts. More than adequate for a 2400 watt appliance.

That washer apparently has a 240 Volt plug on it. You could either change the plug to a 15 Amp (NEMA6-15P) one, or install a separate 20 Amp 250 Volt (NEMA6-20R) receptacle for it to plug into.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 08:21 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Default

washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match


Quote:
Originally Posted by carmusic View Post
but since you tell us that washer only takes 2060w it is less than 10 amps.
You could replace plug on washer for a 15A model since load is a lot less than 15 amps.
Changing out the plug on the washer makes the most sense to me.

And total wattage for both appliances is still under 20 amps (2400w + 2060w divided by 240v = 18.58A).

Last edited by nmliz; 10-18-2011 at 08:23 PM.
nmliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 08:45 PM   #18
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match


From my search it looks like the dryer is from Australia. The manual says it is 240V 50HZ
Supply voltage 240 V, 50 Hz
single-phase
The 50 Hz might be a problem.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 09:00 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Default

washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match


The dryer used to be made in Germany but is now made in Turkey.

My dryer manual says 60 Hz, so maybe this one is made for USA. However, the washer appears to be 50Hz. (Could this have anything to do with why the Asko dryer burnt out?)
nmliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 02:33 AM   #20
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match


Quote:
Originally Posted by nmliz View Post
The dryer used to be made in Germany but is now made in Turkey.

My dryer manual says 60 Hz, so maybe this one is made for USA. However, the washer appears to be 50Hz. (Could this have anything to do with why the Asko dryer burnt out?)
Maybe so becasue couple reasons.,

The European system have 240 volt line to netural while Américian 240 volts is line to line and the issue you may allready ran into is the grounding that useally seal the fate.

If I know which model I can able find the wiring diagram to make sure you are safe on North Américan side.

The 50 HZ motour can run on 60 HZ supply but not super long time it can get overheated due the coil and lamaited plate get overstauated and get hot unless it is dual rated then it is not a issue however the wiring connection that useally get it.

Ditto with Américan applainces show up in European side few did manged to smoked out pretty fast espcally with 120 volt motour { that will be the first thing goes }

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 06:22 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 208
Default

washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match


i see a problem it seem that the washer has a nema 5-20p which is made for 120V circuit (regular 20 amp circuit with T slot recptacle) it is not a 6-20p. is there a transformer inside the washer for it to run at 120V?
carmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 10:22 AM   #22
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 961
Default

washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match


I would not run these two appliances on the same circuit. I would use standard wiring. Since you already have a 20 amp circuit ran, I would use that for the washer, then run a 10/3 for the dryer.
jimmy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jimmy21 For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (10-19-2011)
Old 10-19-2011, 05:39 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Default

washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match


Marc,

The washer is an Asko 10505.

Now I'm wondering if what I really need is a converter to convert the 240v 50Hz to 110v 60Hz.

There is already an unused, dedicated 110 outlet in this space.

Liz
nmliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dryer is 27 amps on 30 amp breaker whatrymes Electrical 2 03-30-2011 09:30 PM
Need to match breaker size to oven amps? dbrew Electrical 17 02-23-2011 07:21 AM
countertop on washer dryer Alto Appliances 0 11-22-2010 02:39 AM
Installing washer and dryer in basement in former tub enclosure. dj_backq Building & Construction 8 11-02-2010 08:56 PM
theorical amps and real amps do not match peterpan00712 Electrical 2 10-30-2010 09:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.