Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-18-2011, 04:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Share |
Default

washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match


I just bought a Blomberg DV 16540 dryer. It plugs into a 240 outlet. My breaker box has duplex 20-amp breakers on this circuit, so the total amps should be 40.

I have an Asko 10505 washer that needs to plug into the dryer. Both washer & dryer are 208/240v.

Unfortunately, the washer has a 20-amp plug, but the dryer has only a 15-amp receptacle on its junction box for plugging in a washer.

I'm wondering if I can change the junction box to a 20-amp one. (I assume I'd have to change the junction box, not just the plug.)

I can't find max amps on the specs, but specs on the dryer say max 2400 watts; on the washer, max 2060 watts. (Dryer has a 15-amp fuse, if that helps.)

Also, the washer says it needs a "240 V, 50 Hz single-phase" supply. The dryer says "208-240V ~ 60 Hz". Is the difference in Hz a problem?

I'm also trying to contact the dryer manufacturer.

Thanks!


Last edited by nmliz; 10-18-2011 at 04:28 PM.
nmliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 04:41 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match


Even though it's a double pole breaker you don't double the 20 amps.

rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 04:49 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Default

washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match


OK, but I still need an answer to the main question.
nmliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 05:24 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match


Maybe some pictures would help us help you.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 05:43 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Default

washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match


Since I obviously don't know what I'm talking about, I just took photos to post--then saw your message!

This is the outlet on the dryer, and plug from the washer.

Need anything else?
Attached Images
  

Last edited by nmliz; 10-18-2011 at 06:12 PM. Reason: pics upside-down
nmliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 05:58 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Default

washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match


Just in case... here's the dryer plug (plugs into the wall, this one matches up fine) & the circuit breaker.
Attached Images
  
nmliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 06:03 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,785
Default

washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match


The dryer should be a 30A circuit wired with #10. 10/3 w/g to be exact. Especially since the dryer is designed to also carry the load of the washer.
Is that washer designed for the US? YES, the incorrect cycles will make a difference.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 06:11 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Default

washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match


And here's a pic of the junction box on back of dryer.

Now here's something that confuses me. On the washer that goes with this Blomberg dryer (which we did NOT buy), it says the following:
Electrical supply voltage must conform to the voltage specifications (208-240V, 60Hz) located on the
appliance. For this purpose, a junction box (as seen in picture
below) must be obtained. Junction box is supplied with Blomberg Clothes Dryer (model no: DV16540 NBL00) and it works as a voltage converter from 110/120V to 208/240V between the mains and appliance.

But the outlet on this junction box appears to be for a 240 plug (see 1st photo).
Attached Images
 
nmliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 06:15 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Default

washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Is that washer designed for the US?
It's an import, so not designed for the US, but sold here for the US market.

Unfortunately, I can't fit a regular US dryer into the space, and I thought this one would work better with the imported washer.
nmliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 06:17 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Default

washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
The dryer should be a 30A circuit wired with #10. 10/3 w/g to be exact. Especially since the dryer is designed to also carry the load of the washer.
I was afraid you were going to say that!
nmliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 06:27 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,785
Default

washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match


Well, it is good to see in the past pic that there are fuses (or small breakers) inside the unit for the piggyback receptacle.
Since that receptacle is 15A you CANNOT plug that 20A washer into it. And do NOT replace the 15A receptacle with a 20A. The wiring and overloads in the dryer are not designed for it.

IMO you are not going to be able to use that washer with that dryer. You'll need the proper circuit run for the washer.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 06:50 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Default

washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match


OK, bad news, but we'll find an electrician. I appreciate your help!
nmliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 07:45 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Default

washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match


One more question: if we put the washer & dryer on separate circuits, we don't need 30A, right?

In fact, could we use one of the 20A circuits for the washer, and one for the dryer?
nmliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 08:06 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 209
Default

washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match


but since you tell us that washer only takes 2060w it is less than 10 amps.
You could replace plug on washer for a 15A model since load is a lot less than 15 amps.
carmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 08:07 PM   #15
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match


I copied this from the manual. It says the dryer only needs a 15A breaker.
Attached Thumbnails
washer plugs into dryer, but amps on plugs don't match-blomberg.jpg  

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dryer is 27 amps on 30 amp breaker whatrymes Electrical 2 03-30-2011 09:30 PM
Need to match breaker size to oven amps? dbrew Electrical 17 02-23-2011 07:21 AM
countertop on washer dryer Alto Appliances 0 11-22-2010 02:39 AM
Installing washer and dryer in basement in former tub enclosure. dj_backq Building & Construction 8 11-02-2010 08:56 PM
theorical amps and real amps do not match peterpan00712 Electrical 2 10-30-2010 09:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.