Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-05-2013, 08:42 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 88
Share |
Default

washer 3 prong to two prong old house 1940


Clothes Washer Label:
"Plug into a grounded 3-prong outlet. Do not use with an adapter. Do not use an extension cord. Do not remove the ground prong."

What to do? Ground 3rd to pipe, to ele box, or what should I do?

tks,
pa

paulmars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 09:04 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 180
Default

washer 3 prong to two prong old house 1940


Either plug into a grounded outlet, if possible with out extension cord, rewire circuit and install grounded outlet, or install gfi. If I were you, the safest thing to do would be to rewire the circuit and install a grounded plug

romex1220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 09:43 PM   #3
Member
 
seansy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 292
Default

washer 3 prong to two prong old house 1940


Install a GFCI receptacle and label "No ground" if you cant run grounded wiring.

The ground is there to protect YOU! Not the machine.

If the GFCI senses an unbalance in load, (ie. machine shorts out) it will trip.
seansy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to seansy59 For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (09-06-2013)
Old 09-05-2013, 09:48 PM   #4
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,647
Default

washer 3 prong to two prong old house 1940


Quote:
Originally Posted by paulmars View Post
Clothes Washer Label:
" Do not... Do not... Do not..."

What to do?
Ignore the lawyers.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 06:12 AM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,773
Default

washer 3 prong to two prong old house 1940


I wouldn't "rewire" anything. Just have a new circuit run for the washer.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (09-06-2013)
Old 09-06-2013, 07:02 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 88
Default

washer 3 prong to two prong old house 1940


GFCI would be easy. Is that up to code?

pa
paulmars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 04:28 PM   #7
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,647
Default

washer 3 prong to two prong old house 1940


Quote:
Originally Posted by paulmars View Post
GFCI would be easy. Is that up to code?
What code?

On point: what are you trying to accomplish?
Attached Images
  
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 04:41 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 88
Default

washer 3 prong to two prong old house 1940


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post

What code?

On point: what are you trying to accomplish?
code for my county.

safety.
paulmars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 08:35 PM   #9
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,521
Default

washer 3 prong to two prong old house 1940


Quote:
Originally Posted by paulmars View Post
GFCI would be easy. Is that up to code?

pa
Yes, it is code compliant to replace the ungrounded receptacle with a GFCI labelled "no equipment ground". It is also pretty safe. I would not want a washer connected to an ungrounded circuit without a GFCI.

EDIT: 250.114 does not allow the use of this exception on a washer, because it specifically requires washers to be on grounded circuits. If you already had a GFCI there then it could be arguable since the house is older than 250.114, but if you have to modify the circuit to comply with code then the only legal solution would be to run a grounded circuit.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.

Last edited by mpoulton; 09-08-2013 at 03:06 PM.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 08:49 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,311
Default

washer 3 prong to two prong old house 1940


Wouldn't it be best to just get an electricain to instal a ground on that circuit !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 09:30 PM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,328
Default

washer 3 prong to two prong old house 1940


Article 250.114 requires that the washing machine be used on a grounded circuit. Installing a GFI would enhance safety, but would not meet the code or the instructions included with the washer.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (09-08-2013), stickboy1375 (09-07-2013)
Old 09-06-2013, 10:09 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,213
Default

washer 3 prong to two prong old house 1940


Best to run a new laundry circuit w/g.f.i. receptacle.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 10:43 AM   #13
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,633
Default

washer 3 prong to two prong old house 1940


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Article 250.114 requires that the washing machine be used on a grounded circuit. Installing a GFI would enhance safety, but would not meet the code or the instructions included with the washer.
This section is SOOOOOOO overlooked....

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (09-07-2013), Jim Port (09-07-2013), Kyle_in_rure (09-07-2013), mpoulton (09-08-2013), Speedy Petey (09-07-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird wiring in house fdmillion Electrical 13 06-14-2013 06:49 PM
Big water leak under house Puzzles Plumbing 4 04-27-2011 02:50 PM
Questions about jacking up house to replace rotted rim/sill SolidStateS15 Remodeling 10 03-22-2010 11:43 AM
Attic Fan AND Whole House Fan PapaGnome HVAC 6 02-15-2009 02:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.