DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Warm and Noisy Electrical Conduit

9K views 4 replies 5 participants last post by  frenchelectrican 
#1 ·
Hello everyone! I'm brand new to this phenomenal board and I first have to say it looks great! My question is this:

Inside my garage I have conduit and wires run off of an electrical outlet to a box on the outside of my garage. The box on the outside of my garage then has conduit and wires run to a post where my outdoor pool plugs into. Well, my outdoor underground conduit went bad last year and I had it replaced this year. Everything seemed to be working fine until this morning I was in my garage and I noticed a little bit of a noise. Kind of like a rattling noise. I'd liken the noise to putting uncooked rice in the metal conduit and shaking it gently. So I proceeded to find the conduit that was making the noise. It's the conduit that runs from my electrical outlet to the box on the outside of my garage. I also noticed that the conduit was warm right where it connect to the electrical outlet. So, i quickly figured this was maybe somehow connected to my pool running. When the pool is shut off, no rattling or heat on conduit. When the pool is on, the conduit seems fine for a few minutes, then rattling appears and conduit warms up at base. I didn't leave the pool running to see if it would trip the breaker. I'm not sure if it would becuase I've had the pool running every day for the past few months. Could I just be loosing my mind and this be normal for the conduit to be warm and maybe there's just a rattle somewhere? Or, should I have an electrician come out and take a look. I can provide pictures and video if necessary.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated!!

-Michael

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
Turn it off right now. There is probably a loose connection inside that is sparking and likely to start a fire.