Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-24-2011, 06:23 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 155
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Wanting to add a circuit breaker subpanel to fuse panel.


I want to add a circuit but have a full fuse panel, can i take out a 15A fuse, and install and 30A fuse and wire the subpanel to the 30A fuse and install to 15A circuits to the subpanel?

humberguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 07:31 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wanting to add a circuit breaker subpanel to fuse panel.


That fuse panel has to be +40 yrs old, I think it is time to replace it, since buss and fuse connections deteriorate over time. And you may not have add a sub panel, but if it is for a different location, it will be much simpler with a new breaker panel.

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 07:49 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 155
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Wanting to add a circuit breaker subpanel to fuse panel.


I'm planning on changing the panel in the future, i want to add the sub panel for the mean time. Can i do that by taking out a 15A fuse and installing a 30 fuse for a sub panel?
humberguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 09:15 AM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,148
Rewards Points: 3,090
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Wanting to add a circuit breaker subpanel to fuse panel.


A sub panel generally has a 240 volt feed. That will require two fuses to be used as the feed.
I don't see any problem with your plan other than two fuse are needed.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 10:08 AM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,177
Rewards Points: 2,264
Default

Wanting to add a circuit breaker subpanel to fuse panel.


While 120/240 volt sub panel are certainly the norm, I do not believe there is a specific prohibition against a 120 volt sub. If you proceed, I would plan on the ultimate use of this sub, and provide a panel and cabling (4 wire feeders with enough slack to move to new main panel) based on the ultimate use. Also insure the neutrals and grounds are kept separate in the sub.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 10:29 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 155
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Wanting to add a circuit breaker subpanel to fuse panel.


im thinking of getting this sub panel. The information says 1 phase sub panel, but looks like a 2 phase sub panel. Is it 1 phase or 2 phase sub panel?

http://www.homedepot.ca/webapp/wcs/s...&storeId=10051




humberguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 11:18 PM   #7
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wanting to add a circuit breaker subpanel to fuse panel.


A single phase panel has 2 hots and a neutral, the term "2 phase" is kind of confusing. Your picture shows a single phase panel. Two phase power generation is basically obsolete, but 2 phase is sometimes used for control circuits in 3 phase systems. At any rate, what comes to your home is single phase while some commercial power is 3 phase.


Last edited by Missouri Bound; 06-24-2011 at 11:22 PM.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
running a subpanel from the main breaker on the pole. shocknawe Electrical 6 05-09-2011 10:51 AM
Subpanel next to Main panel wired the same in 1990 Uncle Wayne Electrical 3 01-20-2011 01:43 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
Basic circuit breaker panel information ph3iron Electrical 4 02-08-2009 04:28 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.