Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-23-2014, 03:50 PM   #31
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
A 20 amp circuit should be limited to 16 amps for a continuos load (3hours or more ).
IMO, the only items that should be considered continuous in a residence is Electric heat, and electric water heater...

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 05:46 PM   #32
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,894
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
IMO, the only items that should be considered continuous in a residence is Electric heat, and electric water heater...
You are entitled to your opinion.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 06:29 PM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Holzman View Post
You see the breaker at the top of the panel labeled 200A? That is a 200A, 240 volt breaker, so you have a 200A service, with a total capacity of 200A * 240V = 48,000 watts = 48 kilowatts (kw). In order to figure out how much spare capacity you really have, you need to do a load calculation on all of the devices and lights attached to your panel. But your electrician will be pleased to do this for you, as part of any required upgrade in service. Anyone who can afford 21KW worth of computers can surely afford an electrician to do the necessary work.
you can tell that's a 240v breaker from experience, or there's some indication?

well, this is what I was looking for. I highly doubt the rest of the panel comes anywhere near the remaining 27 KW capacity, but I may have my electrician take a look anyway.
starfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 07:03 PM   #34
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
You are entitled to your opinion.
It's funny how his opinion and the code coincide.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
brric (02-24-2014), jbfan (02-24-2014), Philly Master (02-25-2014), stickboy1375 (02-24-2014)
Old 02-23-2014, 07:26 PM   #35
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


Quote:
Originally Posted by starfighter View Post
you can tell that's a 240v breaker from experience, or there's some indication?

well, this is what I was looking for. I highly doubt the rest of the panel comes anywhere near the remaining 27 KW capacity, but I may have my electrician take a look anyway.
Just about every home in the US is fed with 120/240V. You do have other 240V circuits fed from your panel as well.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 08:41 AM   #36
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
It's funny how his opinion and the code coincide.
As long as the circuit is at 80% capacity, it shouldn't matter if it is run continuously or not
starfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 09:21 AM   #37
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,894
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


[QUOTE=starfighter;1312153]As long as the circuit is at 80% capacity, it shouldn't matter if it is run continuously or not[/
Deleted

Last edited by brric; 02-24-2014 at 09:24 AM.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 02:46 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 781
Rewards Points: 676
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
IMO, the only items that should be considered continuous in a residence is Electric heat, and electric water heater...
Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
You are entitled to your opinion.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
It's funny how his opinion and the code coincide.
For what ever it's worth..........

yes 3 hrs or more is continuous in my book also.................

BUT - I have heard stickboys "opinion" in "many" places being the same in residential.. NJ 36 hr. continuing education courses..... electrical forums, not DIY forums........... For what it's worth...

as you were...

Last edited by ritelec; 02-24-2014 at 02:54 PM.
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 03:07 PM   #39
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


Quote:
Originally Posted by starfighter View Post
As long as the circuit is at 80% capacity, it shouldn't matter if it is run continuously or not
Where is this 80% capacity rule you speak of?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (02-24-2014)
Old 02-24-2014, 03:54 PM   #40
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
For what ever it's worth..........

yes 3 hrs or more is continuous in my book also.................

BUT - I have heard stickboys "opinion" in "many" places being the same in residential.. NJ 36 hr. continuing education courses..... electrical forums, not DIY forums........... For what it's worth...

as you were...
If you read the definition, there really are only two items that fall into that category in residential...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 08:43 PM   #41
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
yes 3 hrs or more is continuous in my book also.................
You left out the most important word......"EXPECTED".
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 10:48 PM   #42
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Where is this 80% capacity rule you speak of?
Electricians that I have talked to have said circuits shouldn't be continuously run at more than 80%. I don't know why they would say that, I presumed to keep wiring from overheating or something, but I am no electrician (as this thread has shown). I would like to know the reasoning behind this, or if it is incorrect - can circuits be run at full capacity 24/7, assuming adequate wiring?
starfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 05:46 AM   #43
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


Quote:
Originally Posted by starfighter View Post
Electricians that I have talked to have said circuits shouldn't be continuously run at more than 80%. I don't know why they would say that, I presumed to keep wiring from overheating or something, but I am no electrician (as this thread has shown). I would like to know the reasoning behind this, or if it is incorrect - can circuits be run at full capacity 24/7, assuming adequate wiring?
True, for continuous loads there is an 80% limitation.
Thing is, you need to look at the definition of "continuous load" in the NEC. Very little in a home is or would be considered a continuous load.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
jbfan (02-28-2014), stickboy1375 (02-28-2014)
Old 02-28-2014, 02:43 PM   #44
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
True, for continuous loads there is an 80% limitation.
Thing is, you need to look at the definition of "continuous load" in the NEC. Very little in a home is or would be considered a continuous load.
I have computer equipment that is running 24/7, and I am trying to make sure I have proper circuit loading in place.
starfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 03:05 PM   #45
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


Quote:
Originally Posted by starfighter View Post
I have computer equipment that is running 24/7, and I am trying to make sure I have proper circuit loading in place.
True enough, but even that is not running at full load full time. Just because a power supply is rated at 450 watts for instance does not mean it draws 450w all the time it is on.

I assume you have a UPS with a digital display. Put the display on load and watch the watts fluctuate.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amps, electrical, home, service, upgrade


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions regarding 100amp service and panel upgrade asledge Electrical 38 12-12-2012 11:57 PM
400A underground Main service intelspec Electrical 7 02-22-2012 01:22 AM
200A upgrade and move, backfeeding permitted? WillK Electrical 3 05-30-2011 08:00 PM
Who owns a Home Warranty Service? oggy bleacher Off Topic 14 05-18-2011 02:24 AM
Juggling power during service upgrade. WillK Electrical 2 05-04-2011 05:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.