Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-23-2014, 09:59 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 23
Share |
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


I am looking to educate myself on what's involved with upgrading my home service from 200A to at least 400A (I live in the US) to run some very power hungry computer equipment. By my basic calculations, I am currently pulling 170+ amps continually (total watts are over 16,000).

Some questions I have:

1)what is involved in actually upgrading capacity? I have a 200A meter, I will be calling my electric supplier as I understand they replace/maintain those. So, I assume I ask them to put a 400A meter in? (I have a 400A panel currently).

2) what is the max continuous use of a 200A meter? I've learned I shouldn't run more than 18A continuous from a 20A breaker/outlet. Same goes for the meter?

3) the computer equipment can handle up to 240v, is it possible to somehow utilize 220/240v, thus reducing the amps each computer uses? (different plugs would be needed but that's not an issue).

4) Is my current situation considered unsafe?

I greatly appreciate any feedback

starfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 10:10 AM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


Quote:
Originally Posted by starfighter View Post
I am looking to educate myself on what's involved with upgrading my home service from 200A to at least 400A (I live in the US) to run some very power hungry computer equipment. By my basic calculations, I am currently pulling 170+ amps continually (total watts are over 16,000).

16000 W is only 66.6 Amps @240V or 133.3 Amps @120V

Some questions I have:

1)what is involved in actually upgrading capacity? I have a 200A meter, I will be calling my electric supplier as I understand they replace/maintain those. So, I assume I ask them to put a 400A meter in? (I have a 400A panel currently).

POCO's don't maintain meter sockets. Why do you say you have a 400A panel? That would be VERY odd for a residential service.

2) what is the max continuous use of a 200A meter? I've learned I shouldn't run more than 18A continuous from a 20A breaker/outlet. Same goes for the meter?

A load calc would need to be done, but generically 160A.

3) the computer equipment can handle up to 240v, is it possible to somehow utilize 220/240v, thus reducing the amps each computer uses? (different plugs would be needed but that's not an issue).

You would still be pulling the same at either 120V or 240V. Say you have a 10A 120V load. If you put that same piece of equipment on a 240V circuit, you have 5A per phase of the service, but that still equates to 10A on your service...you are still billed for 10A by the POCO.

4) Is my current situation considered unsafe?

I don't think you are analyzing this correctly, so it's hard to say.

I greatly appreciate any feedback
Answers in red

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
AndyGump (02-23-2014), starfighter (02-23-2014)
Old 02-23-2014, 10:25 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 23
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Answers in red
Thank you here are a few clarifications -

I am currently running about 21,000 watts continuous, not 16k (my math was off). I had an electrician come and put a bigger panel in, I'm pretty sure it's 400A but I can double check.

It looks like I'm running over the "safe" 160A currently (all the machines are running off 120v outlets). How "dangerous" is this?

I'm mainly trying to run as many machines as possible with my service, I am not sure if utilizing 240v allows me to do this. if it's just 6 to a half dozen, I won't pursue this option further.

Assuming I have a 400A panel, it looks like the "bottleneck" is the 200A meter. Is this correct, and can any licensed/competent electrician upgrade this?

Last edited by starfighter; 02-23-2014 at 10:27 AM.
starfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 10:36 AM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,831
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


As far as power goes a watt is a watt whether it's 12 volts or 240 volts. Generally an upgrade requires larger service conductors from the utility service drop to the meter and larger conductors from the meter to the panel. It could be that your electrician may have up sized the conductors from the meter to the panel. Different POCOS have different requirements for 400 amp services. Some allow a 320 amp socket while others require a CT(current transformer) cabinet ahead of the meter.

Sorry kbuz, I overlooked your answer to # 3.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 10:44 AM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


Quote:
Originally Posted by starfighter View Post
Thank you here are a few clarifications -

I am currently running about 21,000 watts continuous, not 16k (my math was off). I had an electrician come and put a bigger panel in, I'm pretty sure it's 400A but I can double check.

It looks like I'm running over the "safe" 160A currently (all the machines are running off 120v outlets). How "dangerous" is this?

I'm mainly trying to run as many machines as possible with my service, I am not sure if utilizing 240v allows me to do this. if it's just 6 to a half dozen, I won't pursue this option further.

Assuming I have a 400A panel, it looks like the "bottleneck" is the 200A meter. Is this correct, and can any licensed/competent electrician upgrade this?
You are not comprehending how this works. You have 120/240V coming into the house. Even though you aren't running any 240V loads, you are utilizing both legs of the service.

If you total up everything electric in the home at 21 KW, you need to divide that by 240V not 120V.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 10:48 AM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


Take a picture of your panel with the door open and post it.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 11:35 AM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,801
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


It is HIGHLY doubtful that you have a 400A panel. No real electrician in his right mind would replace a 200A panel with a 400A without doing a service upgrade.

I also agree with Kbuz, you are not thinking this correctly. HOW are you measuring wattage? And amperage?

I also highly doubt you are taxing a 200A service with computer equipment in a home. Many folks have the misconception that even a room full of computers will overload a service.
Just exactly are you running? A server room? Laser printers?
"Some very power hungry computer equipment" is extremely vague.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 11:36 AM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,801
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


I am also under the strong opinion that a 400A upgrade is NOT a DIY project.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 12:30 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,928
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


I want to see his electric bill... I call total bull**** on this.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 12:35 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 23
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
You are not comprehending how this works. You have 120/240V coming into the house. Even though you aren't running any 240V loads, you are utilizing both legs of the service.

If you total up everything electric in the home at 21 KW, you need to divide that by 240V not 120V.
I only knew amps = watts/volts, beyond that I don't know much. you guys are helpful, thanks.

So as far as "capacity" is concerned, my 21 KW is only ~88 amps at the meter. So I have some wiggle room. I'll mention that these 21 KW are my computer equipment only- not AC, appliances, normal home usage.

I took a picture of the panel, it says 200A at the top, so that's that- I wish I paid more attention when the electrician was putting it in - I have 4 panels at this place, perhaps he was talking about all 4 totaling 400A (one panel feeds from this 200A panel, the other ones have their own line from the meter, if that makes sense).

To sum up, it looks like I don't need to upgrade, as I have room to grow. I was totaling watts used, dividing by 120, and thought that was it. Thanks again for the help.

Last edited by starfighter; 02-23-2014 at 12:56 PM.
starfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 12:36 PM   #11
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,928
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


So whats your average electric bill per month?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 12:40 PM   #12
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,508
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


If you measured 88 amps at the meter, you do not have 21KW continuous.
The 88 amps was your entire house+computer load at the time it was taken.
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 12:46 PM   #13
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,979
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


Quote:
Originally Posted by starfighter View Post


I only knew amps = volts*watts, beyond that I don't know much

Watts = volts (times) amps


Amps = watts (divided by) volts


Volts = watts (divided by) amps
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 12:55 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 23
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
It is HIGHLY doubtful that you have a 400A panel. No real electrician in his right mind would replace a 200A panel with a 400A without doing a service upgrade.

I also agree with Kbuz, you are not thinking this correctly. HOW are you measuring wattage? And amperage?

I also highly doubt you are taxing a 200A service with computer equipment in a home. Many folks have the misconception that even a room full of computers will overload a service.
Just exactly are you running? A server room? Laser printers?
"Some very power hungry computer equipment" is extremely vague.
I am measuring wattage by kill-a-watt type device, measured at the plug. So one unit is pulling ~2 KW at the wall, divided by 120 to get ~17 amps. All the computer equipment totaled is 21+ KW. This is just the computers - not accounting for any "normal" home use.
So if I'm understanding this right, my 21 KW are only using ~88 amps at the street? Which I don't quite understand because each unit on it's own is using say, 2000/120 = 17 amps at the wall, so 17 amps x 10 units = 170 amps pulling from the 200A panel (all the units are hooked up to the same panel). Again, this is my understanding of it.
I do not understand how the 240 volts is split into 120 once it reaches the house, and maybe that's where I'm getting things confused.

My concern was that I was reaching capacity or running things too close to their safe limits.
starfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 12:58 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 23
Default

Want to upgrade home from 200A to 400A service


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Watts = volts (times) amps


Amps = watts (divided by) volts


Volts = watts (divided by) amps
doh i mistyped. I knew this–I have edited my original entry to reflect this.

starfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amps, electrical, home, service, upgrade


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions regarding 100amp service and panel upgrade asledge Electrical 38 12-12-2012 11:57 PM
400A underground Main service intelspec Electrical 7 02-22-2012 01:22 AM
200A upgrade and move, backfeeding permitted? WillK Electrical 3 05-30-2011 08:00 PM
Who owns a Home Warranty Service? oggy bleacher Off Topic 14 05-18-2011 02:24 AM
Juggling power during service upgrade. WillK Electrical 2 05-04-2011 05:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.