Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2012, 07:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 11
Share |
Arrow

Want to replace thermostat but . . .


I have radiant ceiling heat. The thermostat has two black wires (load) and two red wires (line). It is an old RA=STAT model.

The easy question first...What type of PROGRAMMABLE thermostat could I replace this with?

The hard question. I can turn OFF the breakers in the electric panel but I still get an electrical voltage at the thermostat. (I just had a new electric panel and all new breakers installed and it appears to be doing the same thing the old Federal Pacific did - which is to HEAT the room - even with the breakers OFF!)

This can NOT be right can it???

Papa Smoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 07:25 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,635
Default

Want to replace thermostat but . . .


Quote:
Originally Posted by Papa Smoke View Post
I have radiant ceiling heat. The thermostat has two black wires (load) and two red wires (line). It is an old RA=STAT model.

The easy question first...What type of PROGRAMMABLE thermostat could I replace this with?

These would work... http://www.pexuniverse.com/honeywell...ro-thermostats


Check out the 8000 series.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Papa Smoke View Post
The hard question. I can turn OFF the breakers in the electric panel but I still get an electrical voltage at the thermostat. (I just had a new electric panel and all new breakers installed and it appears to be doing the same thing the old Federal Pacific did - which is to HEAT the room - even with the breakers OFF!)

This can NOT be right can it???
If you turn off the breakers and still have voltage at the t-stat, then you either didnt turn off the correct breaker, or something is amiss with the wiring and needs to be investigated....

stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 07:38 PM   #3
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Want to replace thermostat but . . .


Was the new panel labeled when installed? If not, have the "installer" come back and do it, if it was labeled have him come back and do it RIGHT. Something is amiss alright. Glad you got rid of the FP panel anyway. Any chance you have a sub panel somewhere for just the radiant heat?
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat for electric baseboard wiring help needed vae_victis HVAC 10 01-05-2012 10:53 AM
Replace 3 wire electric baseboard thermostat Bhurl5 HVAC 4 11-27-2011 08:07 PM
Baseboard Heater Thermostat Ground Wire ? sciron Electrical 6 02-19-2011 05:28 PM
double pole thermostat for kickspace heater lee12 Electrical 3 12-09-2010 12:52 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.