Want To Mount A Sconce On The Wall Where There Is A Stud - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2011, 03:45 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


Quote:
Originally Posted by teamo View Post
I would use the pancake box in the picture. Figure out exactly where you want the lights and trace out the box. You may end up with the box overhanging the stud allowing you to run the wire to the knockout in the box. Where are you running the cable from? This is new construction so you are likely to run into fire stopping about half way up the wall. Can you run the cables from the outlet down into a basement or up into the attic? Are you going to run a switch for them or use a switch on the unit themselves?
Yep, I'm hoping the pancake box will overhang the studs, that would result in only having to cut out enough drywall for the pancake box itself for mounting the sconces and not require any patching.

The wire will be coming from the outlets below the mounting locations. For the left sconce, the outlet is literally directly below so I'm hoping fishing the wire for that case will be easy. The outlet for the right sconce is about 2.5 feet away from directly below so I'm less optimistic about not hitting any other studs while running that wire. If there are any methods that will allow me to do that without cutting more drywall, that would be ideal. Also, this is on the 2nd floor of a 3 floor house so there won't be options to run the wire from an attic. The switches will be on the sconce themselves, no need to wire a switch.

Advertisement


Last edited by pdp76; 03-16-2011 at 03:48 PM.
pdp76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 12:20 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


It turns out there is a horizontal 2x4 between the location of the sconces and the outlets below. Looks like I'll have to punch through them somehow. Any advice on how to do something like that with minimal drywall cutting?
pdp76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 02:04 PM   #18
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


The trick is to use a long flex drill bit. They can be found in the electrical tool section of you local big box. Be sure to pick up one of the directional tools also.
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 02:16 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


Quote:
Originally Posted by Powerup26 View Post
How far up from the floor is the stud?
It's just over 4 feet above the floor. But remember, this is the 2nd floor of our home, just in case it makes a difference.
pdp76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 05:05 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SC
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


A 1/2" thick pancake box is the way to go in this situation. But forget about spending the time trying to carve out the studs. Instead, use a paddle bit (or auger bit if the paddle bit isn't long enough) and drill at an angle through the studs where you want to center of the sconce to be. Not only will this provide a path for your wire, but it will also give you a hole with which to terminate the wire in the box. This is the easy part. The hard part is going to be fishing the wire. Good luck!

Rick
http://myhandyadvice.blogspot.com/
sharpsport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 05:55 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SC
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


My apologies Powerup 26. In the case of a cross brace you will have to use a a long flex bit as saturday cowboy suggested, or cut some drywall. Plan B: Pull power from overhead outlets on the 3rd floor. Remove the base board on the 3rd floor and drill through the bottom plate. Without seeing the situation it's hard to say.
sharpsport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 11:17 AM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


Thanks again for all the replies. The horizontal stud is just a few inches below where the sconce is located. If you look at the original picture I posted, the stud is where the top of the headboard is. Anyway, I was thinking about using the idea of drilling a series of holes in the drywall/stud to run the wire through (mentioned several posts back), but instead of doing it behind the pancake box, I'd do it across the horizontal stud. This would however mean that whatever I use to patch up the drywall will come in direct contact with the wire. Would this violate any building codes?
pdp76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 03:18 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


Quote:
Originally Posted by Powerup26 View Post
If that brace stud is only a few inches from your sconce location I would just drill a hole through it. Then fish your wire in that bay. No need to have anything exposed to your drywall patch.
My point was to minimize the amount of drywall I'd have to rip out. It seems like if I were to drill a hole through the middle of the stud, the amount of drywall I need to remove would be substantial to fit a drill in, or are there special drills or drill bits that can minimize the hole in the drywall? I mentioned the "carve a channel" method because I figure if I did that, the amount of drywall torn out would only be as big as the size of the "channel".

I of course would like to do it the right way, but if the hole in the drywall created by drilling through the middle of the beam is significantly larger than the size of a "channel"... and if there is nothing against code to do it the "channelmethod", then I'd still opt for the latter.

p.s. Here is a link to the post with a picture of the "channel method" Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud

Last edited by pdp76; 04-01-2011 at 03:22 PM.
pdp76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 04:49 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


Quote:
Originally Posted by Powerup26 View Post
And you wont need extra holes or "channel" holes in the drywall. My method is you using the hole for light box.
There unfortunately is no hole for the light box, it is directly in front of the window frame studs. I'd have to carve out more drywall to the side of the light box to get any sort of drill bit in there.

Oh wait, I just read your post previous to this one about the bit extender. I did drill through the edges of the window frame studs a little bit to create an opening to wiggle the wire through. Are you suggesting I use the opening in the edge of the windows studs and fit an extended drill bit through it to drill through the horizontal stud below? This might require me to carve out more of the window studs, not sure how easy that will be but I'll consider it since it does seem less kludgy than the "channel" method.

But my question still stands, are there any codes I'd be violating if I did do the channel method? Or any dangers of patching the drywall directly on top of the wiring?

Last edited by pdp76; 04-01-2011 at 05:03 PM.
pdp76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 06:07 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


Thanks for everyone's help, especially Powerup26. I now feel like I have enough information to get the job finished! Maybe I'll post a picture of the final product when I'm done.

Advertisement

pdp76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with how to mount porch light to concrete foundation wall wherm5150 Electrical 7 11-16-2010 09:56 PM
Drywall Bulge after installed TV wall mount tstecko Drywall & Plaster 15 03-23-2010 08:35 PM
Moving a Stud HooKooDooKu Building & Construction 5 02-23-2010 02:11 AM
Mounting Corner Wall Mount Sink petedickson82 Plumbing 2 02-17-2010 10:28 PM
Removing one stud from a bearing wall. tigereye Carpentry 10 03-28-2009 03:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts