Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-14-2011, 01:14 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


I want to mount a couple sconces on our bedroom, one on either side of our bed, but the locations where I want to mount them have studs behind the drywall. Furthermore, I believe the studs are part of the window frame. I've attached a picture to help describe my question/situation. Our home is very new construction by the way, 2010, I throw that out there because maybe it will help determine what kind of windows frame I have, like how thick, how wide, etc... I have no clue. All I know, according to my stud finder tool, is that the window fame extends somewhere between 6 to 8 inches out on either side of the window... it is within this 6 to 8 inches that I want to mount the sconces.

The obvious thing that I don't know how to work around is... Where and how can I run the wires inside the wall if there are studs behind where I want to mount the sconces? Is this even possible? The sconces are very light, maybe 3lbs each max, so a typical old work box supported only by drywall would have been enough support, but too bad the mounting locations are on the window frames. Also, I showed the location of the outlets from where I was expecting to tap for electricity for the sconces. Note, the drawing isn't to scale, but each wire from the sconce to the outlet will not exceed more than 6 feet. Thanks in advance!
Attached Thumbnails
Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud-sconce.jpg  

pdp76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 05:33 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,711
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


It would be typical to have two studs doubled up on each side of the window. You may have more depending on the load above that needs to be carried.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 05:48 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Branford, CT
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


The stud finder MAY be wrong (6-8 inches would suggest a triple stud on the windows). Try tapping in a finishing nail to see if the stud is really where the stud finder shows it.
ControlTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 06:57 AM   #4
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


a pan box is the answer in this
http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 07:49 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ontario Canada, Toronto to be exact.
Posts: 1,373
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


You can also use a plug in wall scone. These are super easy to install; all you need to do is attach them to the wall much like hanging a picture on the wall and plug them in. Thatís it! You can dress the hanging cord up with a cord cover and there is no electrical work needed.
epson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 07:52 AM   #6
old guy contractor
 
tcleve4911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Maine on Little Sebago
Posts: 857
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


Quote:
Originally Posted by epson View Post
You can also use a plug in wall scone. These are super easy to install; all you need to do is attach them to the wall much like hanging a picture on the wall and plug them in. Thatís it! You can dress the hanging cord up with a cord cover and there is no electrical work needed.
.....................
tcleve4911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 07:54 AM   #7
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturday Cowboy View Post
If you don't want a plug-in sconce, this is the way to go.

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 07:59 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ontario Canada, Toronto to be exact.
Posts: 1,373
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


Quote:
Originally Posted by tcleve4911 View Post
.....................
What?
epson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 08:11 AM   #9
old guy contractor
 
tcleve4911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Maine on Little Sebago
Posts: 857
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


That what you have in mind?..........

tcleve4911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 08:33 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ontario Canada, Toronto to be exact.
Posts: 1,373
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


No way wouldnít do that to the guy I was thinking something along the lines as this.

epson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 09:03 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


You may carve away the front of the stud to fit the pancake box (pictures above) flush with the wall surface.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 12:50 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


Thanks for the replies so far! I was thinking about the pancake box as well, but wasn't sure about how the wires would run because judging by the width of the studs on the sides of the window (and I think tripled up studs is probably the case, there is another floor above the window), the back of the pancake box would be completely flush on the studs.

Someone mentioned carving out part of the studs to get the pancake box flush with the outside surface of the drywall, does this mean I'd also have to carve out some space for the wiring to poke through the back or side? If I'm lucky, I suppose the edge of the pancake box would be near the edge of the outermost stud, but if it weren't, would that mean I'd have to remove even more of the drywall so I could carve out enough of the stud for the wire to run through? Are there any structural ramifications to doing this? Also, I'd hate to have to patch up drywall, I was hoping I could cut away just enough to fit the pancake box and cover it with the base of the sconce.

And one more thing, this is an outside wall of the house, meaning the other side of this wall is outside.

Finally, no outside cord for me! No offense epson, but that picture posted by tcleve4911 was freaking hilarious to me... not my style!
pdp76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 07:39 AM   #13
old guy contractor
 
tcleve4911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Maine on Little Sebago
Posts: 857
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


Quote:
Originally Posted by pdp76 View Post
No offense epson, but that picture posted by tcleve4911 was freaking hilarious to me... not my style!
Whew...I was hoping you would get a laugh from that one.
It was supposed to be funny......
tcleve4911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 07:46 AM   #14
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


How thick is your drywall? 1/2" The box pictured/linked above is 1/2" deep, meaning you shouldn't need to carve the front of the stud(s). You can take a 3/4" spade bit and drill a series of holes (all next to each other horizontally) about 1/2" deep, make a little "channel" for your wiring to run in.

__________________
Andrew


Last edited by secutanudu; 03-16-2011 at 07:54 AM.
secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 02:26 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 270
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Want to mount a sconce on the wall where there is a stud


I would use the pancake box in the picture. Figure out exactly where you want the lights and trace out the box. You may end up with the box overhanging the stud allowing you to run the wire to the knockout in the box. Where are you running the cable from? This is new construction so you are likely to run into fire stopping about half way up the wall. Can you run the cables from the outlet down into a basement or up into the attic? Are you going to run a switch for them or use a switch on the unit themselves?

teamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with how to mount porch light to concrete foundation wall wherm5150 Electrical 7 11-16-2010 08:56 PM
Drywall Bulge after installed TV wall mount tstecko Drywall & Plaster 15 03-23-2010 07:35 PM
Moving a Stud HooKooDooKu Building & Construction 5 02-23-2010 01:11 AM
Mounting Corner Wall Mount Sink petedickson82 Plumbing 2 02-17-2010 09:28 PM
Removing one stud from a bearing wall. tigereye Carpentry 10 03-28-2009 02:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.