Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-23-2011, 05:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Want to make under cabinet lights right


Greetings,
I installed under cabinet lights that I am sure are not to code... I would like to make it right. My first question, is it per code to contain an outlet and a switch in a duplex box?


Second question is, I've wired the switch into the GFI protected outlet beside it. I know you can't connect lights to this, but I've heard this switch can can control an outlet strip that the under cabinet lights plug into. Is that correct?

Thanks!

Dshow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 06:30 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,684
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

Want to make under cabinet lights right


You can have the switch and the receptacle in the same box. You cannot however have the undercabinet lighting on the small appliance receptacle circuit. This is the one that you tapped into to get your power.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 07:30 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Want to make under cabinet lights right


Thanks Jim. Can I run the switch to control an outlet strip right below the cabinets (approx 8" up)?

Last edited by Dshow; 06-23-2011 at 07:33 PM.
Dshow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 07:49 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: unincoorperated San Mateo County, CA
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Want to make under cabinet lights right


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
You can have the switch and the receptacle in the same box. You cannot however have the undercabinet lighting on the small appliance receptacle circuit. This is the one that you tapped into to get your power.
Jim, does this requirement apply also to cabinets not in the kitchen? We are installing cabinets at our entry way (think mud room even though it's not a separate room). And I'm thinking about wiring receptacles and a switch to the in-cabinet lights this way.
mudworm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lights Make Clunking noise when Turned on. mkaltenbach Electrical 9 11-29-2010 09:32 PM
Help with Two Switches & Two Lights simplyphp Electrical 36 11-25-2010 02:47 PM
Kitchen sink not centered. gmhut Plumbing 5 06-01-2010 11:44 AM
Wiring up an outside set of motion sensing lights airdaleairdale Electrical 1 06-11-2009 08:35 PM
German Bathroom Cabinet with Lights jhassall@dornbracht.co.uk Electrical 2 01-06-2009 12:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.