Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-07-2007, 09:58 AM   #1

Share |

want to make ceiling light fixture into plug-in lamp

A total novice question -- I have a 20 year old fluorescent ceiling light fixture, which I would like to convert into a plug-in lamp (I'm a gardener and am looking for an inexpensive way to set up a grow station for seeds/plants). I'm looking at the fixture, and it has 8 wires that connect to the Ballast -- two red and two blue that run to the two lamps/bulbs, two yellow that run to the other end of the lamps/bulbs, and a white and a black that obviously connect to the power source. There is no ground wire, though the ground wire from the house wiring had connected to a screw on the fixture. The fixture is 120 volts, 60 Hz and houses two 40 watt flourescent bulbs.

The question is -- is converting this fixture into a plug in lamp as simple as taking a heavy gague cord+plug, and connecting white to white and black to black? Are there any safety concerns with doing this? Clearly, I don't want to burn my house down just to save a couple of bucks. On the other hand, it would be a great way to put an unused fixture back into productivity.

Thanks in advance
Cahill_Main is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 10:50 AM   #2
Mechanical Contractor

Use sj cord with a stress relief plug attached through the knockout hole that the power entered and attach the ground wire from the cord to the metal housing with a small bolt and nut. And yeah black to black and white to white.

Last edited by MechanicalDVR; 07-07-2007 at 10:51 AM. Reason: spelling
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2007, 09:37 PM   #3
Remodeler