Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-24-2010, 12:31 AM   #1

Share |

Want to install light

hey guys so just moved into new house and there is no lights in the living room i would like to install a light in the middle of the ceiling and i have a switch on the wall that currently turns an electrical outlet on and off just the top one the bottom always stays on anyways i would like to power this light from that switch and make the outlet always stay on.
i have never done anything like this before what do i need to do? and can this be done?

Petrafire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 06:13 AM   #2

Want to install light

Running a wire from the ceiling to the switch or the outlet requires drilling holes, so besides being an electrician and knowing where/how to run wires, you need to be able to repair drywall. There are DIY books at home/hardware stores that can add more detail than space allows here.

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 07:45 AM   #3

Want to install light

Yes it most likely can be done. How difficult it is depends on ease of access to wall and ceiling for running wire. If you have access to areas above wall and ceiling, you may be able to run wires without damage to wall. You will also have to install a box in the ceiling which will require cutting a hole in the wall surface. If you intend to mount a ceiling fan, you will have to ensure you have the correct box able to support the weight.

It would also help to describe existing wiring at wall switch and outlet. Does your switch control both outlets (top and bottom) or just one? How many wires enter each of the boxes?

Have you ever changed an outlet or switch? How about a light fixture? Do you have a volt meter?
oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 08:38 AM   #4

Want to install light

Quote:
Originally Posted by Just Bill View Post