Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2010, 01:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

In Wall Programmable Light Switch


Hello,

I have a light switch on my second floor that controls the Pot Lights outside our home. Recently I tried to swap out the switch with a programmable light switch so we wouldn't have to keep running upstairs to turn the outside lights on and off. The switch that I had purchased wasn't the right type as it required 2 Black wires. On my existing switch i only have a white, black and ground. The electrician must have run a dedicated line directly to one of the lights, and then daisy chained them together and installed the switch. Does anyone know of any in-wall timers that would work with a 2 wire setup?

amardeepj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 02:17 PM   #2
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

In Wall Programmable Light Switch


Which timer switch did you buy (make and model). It likely requires two hot wires, a neutral, and a ground...

You only have two wires in your switch box, correct? did you look behind the switch for two white wires in a wire nut? I am assuming you do not have this since the two wires you mentioned were black and a white. This is probably a "switch loop" - which has no neutral.

That being said, I think there are in-wall timers that don't require a neutral. They probably will not work with fluorescent bulbs (or CFLs).

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 02:22 PM   #3
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

In Wall Programmable Light Switch


I think this timer works without a neutral.

Edit: looks like I was right:
http://customer.honeywell.com/techli...00-032-001.pdf

But it does say in that PDF:
"The TI032-3W switch cannot be used with a load below 40 W or above
500 W."

I assume that means CFLs are out of the question.
__________________
Andrew


Last edited by secutanudu; 10-07-2010 at 02:26 PM.
secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 02:51 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default

In Wall Programmable Light Switch


Hello Andrew,

The bulbs I am using are PAR20 Halogen bulbs that are 40 watts each.. I have 11 pot lights outside so I am under 500 watts. I think this may be what I am looking for. I can't remember the name of the one I had bought before. I pulled the switch out and there is no wire nut. Only the Black White and Ground connected. I will do some more research on the one you have suggested and see if I can give it a try.

Thanks for your Help!

Edit:

The one I tried before was the Leviton 6124H Programmable Timer.

http://www.smarthomeusa.com/Products...s/6124Hins.pdf

As the manual shows, The white and blue go to the light, and black and green go hot and ground. This setup didn't work for me since I only have a Black, White and Ground. I was unsure if I could have connected the Black and Blue on the switch together to the Black going to the Load.

Last edited by amardeepj; 10-07-2010 at 03:04 PM.
amardeepj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 03:01 PM   #5
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

In Wall Programmable Light Switch


If it doesn't have a neutral, then all the current it draws has to pass through the load. A normal light will pass a little current through the filament without lighting up at all, so that's OK.

But a CFL looks more like an open circuit before it strikes. Halogen is OK.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 04:30 PM   #6
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

In Wall Programmable Light Switch


amardeepj, I think that honeywell timer (or any that doesn't require a neutral) will work just how you want it to.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 09:20 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default

In Wall Programmable Light Switch


I had seen a GE timer model 15266 at Home Depot that claims that it works on Single Pole installations, however I was a bit hesitant to buy it since I cannot find any manual online to verify if it supports my setup or not.
amardeepj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 02:59 PM   #8
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

In Wall Programmable Light Switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by amardeepj View Post
I had seen a GE timer model 15266 at Home Depot that claims that it works on Single Pole installations, however I was a bit hesitant to buy it since I cannot find any manual online to verify if it supports my setup or not.
That timer says it's "CFL Ready". That leads me to believe it requires a neutral.

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Light switch failure help!! metalrex Electrical 22 02-04-2010 09:13 PM
Add new light and switch to a switch loop UncertainSparky Electrical 4 01-24-2010 08:58 AM
Grabbing power from a light switch box RedBear Electrical 3 01-13-2010 01:28 PM
What wall switch for bath fan/light/heater? janralix Electrical 6 07-20-2009 11:14 AM
Trying to replace wall mounted light fixture jtm2300 Electrical 4 08-03-2007 09:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.