Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-17-2009, 03:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wall oven wiring quick question


I need to replace my wall oven. It is on a standard 4 wire 220v circuit. The specs call for a 220v max 20 amp circuit. The breaker is a 20amp double pole. (2 20's ganged together, one for each hot). Does my current breaker / circuit configuration meet the requierments for the new oven?

205bhamjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 03:45 PM   #2
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

wall oven wiring quick question


Quote:
Originally Posted by 205bhamjim View Post
I need to replace my wall oven. It is on a standard 4 wire 220v circuit. The specs call for a 220v max 20 amp circuit. The breaker is a 20amp double pole. (2 20's ganged together, one for each hot). Does my current breaker / circuit configuration meet the requierments for the new oven?
As long as your new wall oven does not require a different amp

300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 03:54 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wall oven wiring quick question


thanks. If it calls for max 15 amps, can I just replace the 2x20 breaker with a 2x15? I guess what I'm asking is I can always go down but if I go up in amps I need to make sure the line can handle it. Sorry for being a rookie.
205bhamjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 04:01 PM   #4
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Default

wall oven wiring quick question


Quote:
Originally Posted by 205bhamjim View Post
thanks. If it calls for max 15 amps, can I just replace the 2x20 breaker with a 2x15? I guess what I'm asking is I can always go down but if I go up in amps I need to make sure the line can handle it. Sorry for being a rookie.
Yes you can change out to 2 pole 15 amp just can't go above what the wire can handle
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What size breaker for 4100 watt wall oven? romexican Electrical 3 09-15-2009 10:34 PM
Removing built in oven to access wiring? Michman63 Appliances 1 09-03-2009 07:05 AM
Painting 2-tone on a single wall question lmholmes11 Painting 3 07-18-2008 10:43 PM
Framing Question: How thick the wall that carries plumbing? jaes Carpentry 5 06-18-2008 06:39 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 02:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.