Wall Oven - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2007, 01:08 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wall oven


Hi there.

I just removed my old electric range-oven and replaced it with a new wall oven.

The new oven is rated 21 amps/5.1 kw which is a little bit less than the old range.

Would my old 8/3 cable and 40 amp breaker still be OK to provide power to the new wall oven.

Cheers,
Rusty.

Advertisement

rusty_5620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2007, 05:39 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Wall oven


Hi there

Ideally this would be on a 30A breaker for proper protection.

Does your current wire have a ground in it. If it does I would recommend changeing the breaker to a 30A breaker and leaving the wire as is. If there is no ground wire I would recommend changeing the wire out with a new one. On a 30A breaker you could run #10 and be good.

Darren

Advertisement

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 12:05 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wall oven


Hi Darren

Yes there is a ground plus the other three wires. Does the 30 amp 2 pole breaker just make it safer from possible shock more than anything else.
Regards,
Rusty.
rusty_5620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 12:57 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 221
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Wall oven


you don't want to pull too much current before the breaker trips and burn anything up.

did you consult the installation manual?
elementx440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 02:53 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wall oven


As I stated in my original post the wall oven only draws 21 amps which is less than most electric ranges.
The 8/3 with 40 amp breaker was already there from the old range.
rusty_5620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 05:50 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wall oven


The wire will be fine. Does the cord on the wall over plug direcly into the old recepticle?

If not, you can just buy a 2 pole 30 amp breaker and replace the old 2p40 that feeds the circuit now, leaving the old wire in place.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 02:18 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wall oven


Howdy

Hard wired it to the new whip in a junction box below the wall oven.
Put the new 30amp 2 pole in today.

Cheers,
Rusty
Rusty

Advertisement

rusty_5620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace Cripple Wall to Raise Foundation? casey_wa Building & Construction 1 08-04-2007 05:32 PM
Atlantic-need your opinion on markd's comments about my vapor barrier? yummy mummy Building & Construction 11 03-07-2007 10:47 AM
This is not a load-bearing wall, right? AllGoNoShow Building & Construction 4 01-07-2007 04:49 PM
Load Bearing Wall? Traybae Remodeling 3 11-05-2006 02:39 PM
Load Bearing Wall? Traybae Building & Construction 1 11-05-2006 02:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts