Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-18-2012, 07:46 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 33
Share |
Default

Wall mounting tv, want to run the wires through the wall


I want to wall mount my flat screen, need to figure out what to do with the power cable, cables to cable box, DVD player, etc.
- the best spot in my living room is on an exterior wall. Will I run into problems with insulation? House was built in 1940 and any insulation I've seen through other projects has been the blown in, dense, wool-like stuff.
-can I put a power cable in the wall or is that against code (or even worse, a fire hazard)
-


Last edited by jmorc2003; 10-19-2012 at 12:22 PM.
jmorc2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 07:49 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,889
Default

Wall mounting tv, want to run the wires through the wall


You can use a power cable in the wall to install a receptacle behind the TV. You can not use a cord in the wall.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 07:55 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,561
Default

Wall mounting tv, want to run the wires through the wall


http://www.sjmediasystem.com/arl-tvb...n=bingshopping
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 07:59 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 33
Default

Wall mounting tv, want to run the wires through the wall


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
You can use a power cable in the wall to install a receptacle behind the TV. You can not use a cord in the wall.
I'm trying to avoid a new outlet behind the mounted TV. That's more than I can handle and I'd rather not have to pay for an electrician.

I'm mounting the TV in the corner so what about a cord concealer running down the corner?
jmorc2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 08:15 PM   #5
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Wall mounting tv, want to run the wires through the wall


Quote:
Originally Posted by jmorc2003 View Post
so what about a cord concealer running down the corner?
Probably the best idea. Wiremold is a company that manufactures this in various sizes and it's paintable.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 09:09 PM   #6
Insatiable Learner
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 152
Smile

Wall mounting tv, want to run the wires through the wall


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Just used two of these and they work great. One for a widescreen and one for a air purifier. Installation was a snap and I highly recommend these


Quote:
Originally Posted by jmorc2003 View Post
I'm mounting the TV in the corner so what about a cord concealer running down the corner?
Monoprice carries these and they are very inexpensive. You mentioned your house was from the 1940's and you had used insulation. If your house has K&T wiring then just know that those two combinations are a fire hazard.
AngelArs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 09:47 PM   #7
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,521
Default

Wall mounting tv, want to run the wires through the wall


Whenever I install a TV on a wall, I cut a hole behind it and mount a decora-style plate on the drywall, and then do the same down low (~12" above floor) where the AV equipment will sit. I just run the cables down through the wall and call it good. This could probably be considered a code violation with respect to the power cable, but there is an argument that it might not be. Regardless, that's what I do. You may find this extremely difficult to do in pre-war construction with old insulation.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 10:39 PM   #8
Insatiable Learner
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 152
Smile

Wall mounting tv, want to run the wires through the wall


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
I just run the cables down through the wall .
You might want to at least use a AFCI breaker on that circuit to give you some much needed protection.
AngelArs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 05:15 AM   #9
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,889
Default

Wall mounting tv, want to run the wires through the wall


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
Whenever I install a TV on a wall, I cut a hole behind it and mount a decora-style plate on the drywall, and then do the same down low (~12" above floor) where the AV equipment will sit. I just run the cables down through the wall and call it good. This could probably be considered a code violation with respect to the power cable, but there is an argument that it might not be. Regardless, that's what I do. You may find this extremely difficult to do in pre-war construction with old insulation.

Where or who would think this is not a code violation?
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 05:50 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,216
Default

Wall mounting tv, want to run the wires through the wall


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
Whenever I install a TV on a wall, I cut a hole behind it and mount a decora-style plate on the drywall, and then do the same down low (~12" above floor) where the AV equipment will sit. I just run the cables down through the wall and call it good. This could probably be considered a code violation with respect to the power cable, but there is an argument that it might not be. Regardless, that's what I do. You may find this extremely difficult to do in pre-war construction with old insulation.
"That is a NO NO"
__________________
No Warranty Means- If it breaks in half you get to keep both halves.
COLDIRON is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 06:44 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 463
Default

Wall mounting tv, want to run the wires through the wall


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
This could probably be considered a code violation with respect to the power cable, but there is an argument that it might not be.

There is NO argument to be made at all. It most definitely IS a code violation.


If you are doing this on other peoples homes, I suppose you don't know that what you're doing is completely illegal, and could cause their homeowners insurance to not cover a loss.


I'd guess you're one of those who advertise on telephone poles or Craigslist and the like.



No insurance, no license, and no knowledge. Great combination...

ktkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to face a cinder block retaining wall with stone? CarrollY Concrete, Stone & Masonry 5 09-04-2012 12:26 PM
Trouble with staggered wall rightit Building & Construction 2 03-09-2011 06:23 PM
Wiring lights in new construction Mi Feller Electrical 38 06-10-2010 11:24 AM
Creating a hole in the wall to run wires, a good idea? RyanD General DIY Discussions 6 05-19-2009 03:30 PM
Mounting a TV "IN" a wall dchutnik Home Theater 3 01-25-2007 09:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.