Wall Heater Grounding Wire - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2010, 12:45 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wall Heater grounding wire


From the answers you are giving it does not sound like you are familiar wiith electricity. The good poeple here are trying to keep you safe. You cannot blindly replace one heater with an other. You need to know the voltage of each unit and how much current they draw. The total of all heaters on the circuit must not exceed 80% of the breaker rating. You cannot just up the breaker because it is limitrd by the the size of the wire (the awg number). It sounds like your old wire does not have a ground. Youmay be required to run a new wire with ground from the panel. I would do so anyway since a ground is an important safety requirement. If you are not comfortable doing it hire a pro.

Advertisement

SleepyDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 01:33 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wall Heater grounding wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
We know this now from several different posts. What we don't know is what type of cable is feeding this heater.
The feeding cable is 12 guage in a conduit.
I figure the conduit is a the ground.

Michael
Michael Hui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 01:43 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wall Heater grounding wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by waynesp View Post
Hi,

Is the voltage,and wattage rating of the heater the same as the old heater?
what is the voltage of the heater? check name plate
What is the wattage of the heater?check name plate
What is the wire size rating on the cable?check cable sheath
What is the breaker or fuse size feeding the heater?check at panel

Does the cable feeding the heater have a ground conductor?check cable

Do you have installation instructions?

Check electrical drawing in instructions and post.
Voltage 24o for old and new heaters
1500 watts heater to replace 1000 watt old baseboard heater
Feeder wire is 12 guage wiring in metal conduit
Breaker fuse size 30 amp, double polls breaker to one heater.
I have it hooked up and works well.
Thank you.
Michael
Michael Hui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 01:50 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wall Heater grounding wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by SleepyDog View Post
From the answers you are giving it does not sound like you are familiar wiith electricity. The good poeple here are trying to keep you safe. You cannot blindly replace one heater with an other. You need to know the voltage of each unit and how much current they draw. The total of all heaters on the circuit must not exceed 80% of the breaker rating. You cannot just up the breaker because it is limitrd by the the size of the wire (the awg number). It sounds like your old wire does not have a ground. Youmay be required to run a new wire with ground from the panel. I would do so anyway since a ground is an important safety requirement. If you are not comfortable doing it hire a pro.
The old wire is coming in a metal conduit, double poll, 240 volts, 30 amp feeds one heater only.
I have the unit hooked up and is working well after few hours of test.
Thank you.
Michael Hui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 08:10 AM   #20
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Wall Heater grounding wire


If it's metal conduit all the way back to the panel, the conduit would be your ground. Replace the 30 amp breaker with a 2 pole, 20 amp breaker (12 AWG copper wire is good for up to 20 amps).
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 01:10 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wall Heater grounding wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
If it's metal conduit all the way back to the panel, the conduit would be your ground. Replace the 30 amp breaker with a 2 pole, 20 amp breaker (12 AWG copper wire is good for up to 20 amps).

Thank you Kyle,
The conduit is of matel casing and connected to the breaker panel. The hook up is double pole and it is 30 amps.
My heater is working well.
Michael

Advertisement

Michael Hui is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Venting med. efficiency furnace and H2O heater thru wall? cbrc5eric Building & Construction 2 04-03-2010 12:07 AM
Wall - LOAD BEARING: How to Move? user49172 Building & Construction 1 03-11-2009 05:48 PM
Grounding conduit instead of using a ground wire? stringtheories Electrical 10 08-02-2008 01:42 PM
Anyone want to take a shot at why #6 to attach antenna ground to breaker? Piedmont Electrical 44 01-08-2008 05:11 PM
Marrying a sloping stone wall to a cinder block wall. mrdol Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 11-09-2007 05:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts