Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-25-2008, 07:56 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 20
Share |
Default

wait a sec...don't recessed light housings violate the code?


Now I just thought of something. Please tell me if my argument holds water.

From what I understand, code states that splices and boxes must be accessible.

Well how the hell are the splices accessible in those new construction recessed cans?

Isn't this a direct violation of the NEC?
If so, is it ignored in the industry or they just have not thought about it?

Please give me your expertise feedback on the matter. I am very curious.

I_think_I_conduit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 08:01 AM   #2
BUILDER / REMODELING CONT
 
buletbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: LONG ISLAND N.Y
Posts: 1,543
Default

wait a sec...don't recessed light housings violate the code?


Cant the can be removed from the mounting bracket to gain access to the splice. BOB

buletbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 08:07 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 20
Default

wait a sec...don't recessed light housings violate the code?


****Cant the can be removed from the mounting bracket to gain access to the splice. BOB****

I am not familiar with how that unit breaks down. Possibly...I will check.

It would be a great relief to know that that could be done. Come to think of it, I guess that is why the box has removable plates on both sides.

duhh. I will follow up after I check. Thanks.
I_think_I_conduit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 08:28 AM   #4
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,526
Default

wait a sec...don't recessed light housings violate the code?


This comes up very often... on new work recessed lights, the can portion is removable so that the wiring junction box can be accessed. Usually just three screws hold it in place.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 10:14 AM   #5
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

wait a sec...don't recessed light housings violate the code?


The make-up box on the can opens from the outside for installation, but also opens from the inside (the side the can is on) to facilitate access with the can housing removed.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 05:51 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 20
Default

wait a sec...don't recessed light housings violate the code?


gee whiz...thanks for the help guys. I feel like a nitwit. I thought I came up with something wise and I end up looking foolish.

I am so glad to know this because I was ready to cut out a square section of drywall to access the dmn thing.

(I will see if I can delete this thread...duh.) please disregard this.LOL
I_think_I_conduit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 05:57 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

wait a sec...don't recessed light housings violate the code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by I_think_I_conduit View Post
gee whiz...thanks for the help guys. I feel like a nitwit. I thought I came up with something wise and I end up looking foolish.
You never know until you ask. That is not at all foolish.





Quote:
Originally Posted by I_think_I_conduit View Post
I am so glad to know this because I was ready to cut out a square section of drywall to access the dmn thing.
Now THAT would make you look foolish!
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 06:19 PM   #8
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

wait a sec...don't recessed light housings violate the code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by I_think_I_conduit View Post
(I will see if I can delete this thread...duh.
Don't do that. This site gets indexed in google and I'm sure you aren't the only one ready to cut a hole in your ceiling.

There are so many "unwritten rules" that seem simple after we hear them, but they aren't so simple to someone who has never been in that situation.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 07:53 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

wait a sec...don't recessed light housings violate the code?


When you install them, please have a little slack on the wire so the next person can have a good day...

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recessed Light on Curved Ceiling? mfleming Electrical 2 10-31-2008 06:53 PM
Remodel style recessed light code question bjstewa Electrical 8 05-22-2008 09:25 PM
Recessed Lighting vs Electrical/Mechanical/Fire Code 909 Electrical 3 05-21-2008 01:11 PM
Adding one recessed light to exsisting switch... JayBird Electrical 1 04-03-2008 07:32 PM
Recessed light plan foiled? kcrossley2 Electrical 8 03-14-2007 11:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.