Voltage Too High For Light Sockets - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2013, 03:40 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Voltage too high for light sockets


I removed a non-load-bearing wall and all went well. Next I needed to relocate the light switches. All 3 switches were on dimmers and operating correctly. I rewired everything, but now face the problem that only 1 of my 3 lights is working properly. Two of them appear like they are getting too much voltage. They are WAY brighter than they were before and when I move the dimmer setting all the way down, the brightness is cut in half, but still quite bright.

When I tie the switch directly to the light wiring, it does not have any power and the switch does not work. Leaving one wire tied to the switch and the second wire spliced to a hot wire and a wire from the switch is what is causing it to be a super high voltage. I have also tried switching which of the two wires is connected to hot and directly to the switch. There is no difference. Both situations lead to a bulb dangerously bright and a dimmer that only dims halfway at best.

Any suggestions what I might have done wrong?

Thank you.
-Steven Wolff

Advertisement

swolff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 07:17 AM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,162
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Voltage too high for light sockets


Quote:
Originally Posted by swolff View Post
I removed a non-load-bearing wall and all went well. Next I needed to relocate the light switches. All 3 switches were on dimmers and operating correctly. I rewired everything, but now face the problem that only 1 of my 3 lights is working properly. Two of them appear like they are getting too much voltage. They are WAY brighter than they were before and when I move the dimmer setting all the way down, the brightness is cut in half, but still quite bright.

When I tie the switch directly to the light wiring, it does not have any power and the switch does not work. Leaving one wire tied to the switch and the second wire spliced to a hot wire and a wire from the switch is what is causing it to be a super high voltage. I have also tried switching which of the two wires is connected to hot and directly to the switch. There is no difference. Both situations lead to a bulb dangerously bright and a dimmer that only dims halfway at best.


Any suggestions what I might have done wrong?

Thank you.
-Steven Wolff
take some pics on what you did....

Advertisement

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 07:21 AM   #3
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,276
Rewards Points: 3,192
Default

Voltage too high for light sockets


You have a multi wire branch circuit with a missing neutral---this is bad.

I'll leave this for an electrician to answer----you need a two wire tester to find the two different 110 lines (each from different legs) and fix the missing neutral---


This condition will ruin ant electronics--so fix it quickly nefor you fry a computer,t.v. or fridge--Mike---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 07:23 AM   #4
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,276
Rewards Points: 3,192
Default

Voltage too high for light sockets


Stick boy is an electrician! You will get your answers now---Mike---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 06:29 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,704
Rewards Points: 2,368
Default

Voltage too high for light sockets


Quote:
Originally Posted by swolff View Post
a bulb dangerously bright
You have lost your neutral !

This is a dangerous situation !

Is everything else in the house ok ?

Dissconnect everything you have done !
post a pic of all the wiring spots,
clearly showing all wires and there colors !
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 12:59 AM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Voltage too high for light sockets


Either you have two circuits in that switch box or have MWBC mixed up that the two most common cuprit.

Do you have three way switches in that location ?

How many power sources in that switch box ? ( the answer will tell you if you turn off one or duex breakers if two then you have two circuits. )

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 01:14 AM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,399
Rewards Points: 2,460
Default

Voltage too high for light sockets


Either pushing 240vAC through the bulbs, or lost the Neutral. They will only handle 240VAC for so long, before they either melt the sockets from the heat, the glue becomes so solvent that the bulbs fall out of the metal Edison bases, or you see the Magic Smoke or Fire shooting out of the light fixtures.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 09:28 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Voltage too high for light sockets


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Either pushing 240vAC through the bulbs, or lost the Neutral. They will only handle 240VAC for so long, before they either melt the sockets from the heat, the glue becomes so solvent that the bulbs fall out of the metal Edison bases, or you see the Magic Smoke or Fire shooting out of the light fixtures.
actually the element will burn out and the bulb will no longer work.
__________________
RIP EJT
usair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 10:23 AM   #9
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Voltage too high for light sockets


I'll second the above.

You have a MWBC (multi-wire branch circuit) (two hots, a neutral, and a ground) that has been miswired. You need to check everything you've done, and you need to disconnect ANY appliances connected on these circuits.

Advertisement

Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Kyle_in_rure For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (07-14-2013)
Reply

Tags
high voltage , voltage


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can someone tell me why my low voltage lights are reading high current at the switch? kmc Electrical 5 06-04-2012 10:38 PM
Flickering lights on circuit with low voltage and line voltage bulbs davidwiesel Electrical 4 04-18-2011 09:54 AM
Voltage in Metal Roof and Gutters TITAN2390 Electrical 4 10-07-2010 08:44 PM
High Voltage Test ?? Melanie337 Electrical 20 10-20-2009 03:19 PM
Low voltage in same box as high voltage? mpedrummer Electrical 2 02-28-2007 12:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts