Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-03-2011, 10:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

voltage testing question......


I've installed a 220 1 phase 50 amp breaker for a small welder, can I test power by using a Klein ET50 tester and plugging it into both hots?
I used #6 wire and its located 2' from the panel.

Thanks....

serrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 11:27 PM   #2
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,528
Rewards Points: 2,396
Default

voltage testing question......


Why not use a regular voltmeter and just measure from hot to hot....should have have 'around' 240 Vac. And if you measure from either hot to ground...around 120 Vac.

__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 03:44 AM   #3
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

voltage testing question......


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
Why not use a regular voltmeter and just measure from hot to hot....should have have 'around' 240 Vac. And if you measure from either hot to ground...around 120 Vac.
The Klein ET50 is a voltmeter.

http://www.homedepot.com/buy/electri...er-165789.html
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 03:46 AM   #4
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

voltage testing question......


Quote:
Originally Posted by serrano View Post
I've installed a 220 1 phase 50 amp breaker for a small welder, can I test power by using a Klein ET50 tester and plugging it into both hots?
I used #6 wire and its located 2' from the panel.

Thanks....
Yes you can.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 02:29 PM   #5
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,528
Rewards Points: 2,396
Default

voltage testing question......


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post

I don't call that a voltmeter....I call it a "You might be in the ballpark" indicator....

My Fluke 179 is a voltmeter....my Simpson 260 is a voltmeter....that thing is not a voltmeter....there is no meter on it......
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 03:50 PM   #6
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

voltage testing question......


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
I don't call that a voltmeter....I call it a "You might be in the ballpark" indicator....

My Fluke 179 is a voltmeter....my Simpson 260 is a voltmeter....that thing is not a voltmeter....there is no meter on it......
Didn't you read the description?......."designed by electricians"
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 03:54 PM   #7
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

voltage testing question......


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
Didn't you read the description?......."designed by electricians"
You missed the best part
Quote:
This tester was designed by electricians, for electricians
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 08:45 PM   #8
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,528
Rewards Points: 2,396
Default

voltage testing question......


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
Didn't you read the description?......."designed by electricians"
Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
You missed the best part

Oh....well....in that case, I stand corrected....guess I'll have to throw away all my meters.....I have 4 of them...
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 04:53 AM   #9
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

voltage testing question......


Yeah yeah ....I know it is not the best, but it is better than a Radio Shack special.

Few DIYers will even buy any testers at all. Most have a NCVT pen at best.

The ET-50 is only $21.00, so you cannot expect much.

I recommend the T5-600 to most people.

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flickering lights on circuit with low voltage and line voltage bulbs davidwiesel Electrical 4 04-18-2011 08:54 AM
Backflow device testing - possible scam? ScottR Plumbing 9 06-14-2009 10:55 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
Low voltage box question WShawn Electrical 7 08-19-2008 06:22 AM
Low voltage wire entering/exiting walls need box? Azeiku Electrical 2 07-07-2008 04:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.