Voltage Sag Or VD. Where Do They Draw The Line In The Sand? - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2011, 04:52 PM   #31
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Voltage sag or VD. Where do they draw the line in the sand?


Quote:
Anyway, I did want to ask you guys about transformer ratings. I understand KVA and KW, and the relation within but curious where the engineered margins are in transformers
I hope you don't perform work for your customers with the same "anything to save a buck" attitude. You need to quit playing around with that federal pacific panel with the problems and the dryer range combo circuit with the illegally sized wire and and any other problems you have and put in the correct size commercial service.

I would love to be around when the POCO realizes you are running a commercial business on a residential service with residential rates and all. They don't like that 'cuz it costs them a lot of money.

It is just ridiculous to consider operating a: I have a 12000sf building to climate control and all the equipment on a 100 amp service along with the house.

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 05:00 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 198
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Voltage sag or VD. Where do they draw the line in the sand?


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
I hope you don't perform work for your customers with the same "anything to save a buck" attitude. You need to quit playing around with that federal pacific panel with the problems and the dryer range combo circuit with the illegally sized wire and and any other problems you have and put in the correct size commercial service.

I would love to be around when the POCO realizes you are running a commercial business on a residential service with residential rates and all. They don't like that 'cuz it costs them a lot of money.

It is just ridiculous to consider operating a: I have a 12000sf building to climate control and all the equipment on a 100 amp service along with the house.
I think you got your facts a little off, based on my posts. Range has been corrected, Breaker Panel will be upgraded to a GE 200A with 4/0 Al, and no, I am not trying to run my 12K sf shop with this.

The PC here anyway DOES charge a premium for residential service and told me straight up that if I need it, they will deliver it. They just want to sell juice. The price around here is .06/kw for 3ph and .12/kw for 1ph.

You need to realize I DID NOT BUILD THIS HOUSE!! It was poorly built with some questionable electrics in some areas but yes, I am try to save money where I can. Shame on me for trying to save money.
viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 05:47 PM   #33
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Voltage sag or VD. Where do they draw the line in the sand?


Quote:
Originally Posted by viper View Post
I think you got your facts a little off, based on my posts. Range has been corrected, Breaker Panel will be upgraded to a GE 200A with 4/0 Al, and no, I am not trying to run my 12K sf shop with this.

The PC here anyway DOES charge a premium for residential service and told me straight up that if I need it, they will deliver it. They just want to sell juice. The price around here is .06/kw for 3ph and .12/kw for 1ph.

You need to realize I DID NOT BUILD THIS HOUSE!! It was poorly built with some questionable electrics in some areas but yes, I am try to save money where I can. Shame on me for trying to save money.
kW for a commercial service? Um, ok, if you say so. You apparently do not understand what I was even talking about.

Quote:
I think you got your facts a little off, based on my posts. Range has been corrected, Breaker Panel will be upgraded to a GE 200A with 4/0 Al, and no, I am not trying to run my 12K sf shop with this.
then why would these big CNC machines be drawing on this service you are dealing with? You can't change the story and expect to be believed. You are the one that said you could run up a machine and draw 300 amps on this service.



and it's not shame on you for trying to save money but with at least 6 POCO's that I deal with, what you are doing is outright illegal.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 06:03 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 198
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Voltage sag or VD. Where do they draw the line in the sand?


Well, with having only 50% of the story and not realizing I have 3 properties, I can see where you would be confused and yes, one of my shops is a 12k sf facility with a 600A/240V delta 3ph service. I have some stuff at home.

Never the less, this thread seems to be turning into a pissing contest so I will bug out.

Thanks
viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 06:30 PM   #35
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Voltage sag or VD. Where do they draw the line in the sand?


delta on a service to a new building? ? and 240 V? um, ok, if you say so

would that be a floating delta, corner grounded delta, or center tapped delta?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 06:46 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 198
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Voltage sag or VD. Where do they draw the line in the sand?


Just more points for shooting from the clouds.

Fact is, this is a world wide forum and you DO NOT need to know my life story, nor does the whole world. I asked a simple question. I got what I needed. I am sorry that I do not wish to fill you in on every detail so you can pick it apart.

Do you do this to everyone or do I attract your type for some reason?
viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 07:03 PM   #37
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Voltage sag or VD. Where do they draw the line in the sand?


Quote:
Originally Posted by viper View Post
Just more points for shooting from the clouds.

Fact is, this is a world wide forum and you DO NOT need to know my life story, nor does the whole world. I asked a simple question. I got what I needed. I am sorry that I do not wish to fill you in on every detail so you can pick it apart.

Do you do this to everyone or do I attract your type for some reason?
people I believe may be committing crimes do tend to attract me.

as to me picking anything apart; that is simply to judge veracity and so far, you have failed.

as to knowing your life and it being a world wide forum: you do realize that there is no more anonymity on the internet than the means a person is limited to in tracing you. You would be amazed at how known you already are to those with the means to discover it.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 07:20 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 198
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Voltage sag or VD. Where do they draw the line in the sand?


I dunno what to say but you win...Champio n stuff.

Where is the icon for ego stroking? I cannot find it...

I have no idea what crime I am committing or inaccuracy in my posts but I feel better that the "forum police" is here.
viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 07:46 PM   #39
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Voltage sag or VD. Where do they draw the line in the sand?


Quote:
Originally Posted by viper View Post
I dunno what to say but you win...Champio n stuff.

Where is the icon for ego stroking? I cannot find it...

I have no idea what crime I am committing or inaccuracy in my posts but I feel better that the "forum police" is here.




to the ego stroking emoticon: works pretty good. Feel free to use as many as the forum will allow.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 07:50 PM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 198
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Voltage sag or VD. Where do they draw the line in the sand?


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
to the ego stroking emoticon: works pretty good. Feel free to use as many as the forum will allow.

:c lap:
viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 07:57 PM   #41
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Voltage sag or VD. Where do they draw the line in the sand?


where's the kowtows?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 01:48 PM   #42
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 198
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Voltage sag or VD. Where do they draw the line in the sand?


Meter monitor data was downloaded by POCO and determined that I had sufficient loads along with problematic line loss from a long cable pull from transformer to justify installing me my own transformer. OUTSTANDING! Should be done in a few days.
viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 03:39 PM   #43
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,975
Rewards Points: 2,046
Default

Voltage sag or VD. Where do they draw the line in the sand?


Commercial power accounts may or may not include a "demand" charge. This is a surcharge if you draw more than X amperes at any time during the month. Different ways exist for computing the surcharge, for example it may be bigger if you make the large draw during certain designated peak hours, or it may be bigger if you make the large draw more than once, etc.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 03:56 PM   #44
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 198
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Voltage sag or VD. Where do they draw the line in the sand?


As I understand it from our POCO, we will likely be getting demand meters for all residentials soon BUT will not be charged for it as a residential (so they say). It will soley be used to improve power distribution and grid monitoring. He said there was not going to be any KVARs systems or anything like that that would be typical in a commercial service around here.

In any case, my peak inrush currents rarely exceed 150A and continuous would be pushing things at 100A but only for shorter amounts of time. Just have to figure a welder, 10HP air compressor along with the wife running resistive loads in the kitchen. Would never even touch 200A, I know that.

Many people around here are able to get 300-350A services if they indicate they are using all electric loads which is an instant 100A demand for heating a home. I however, do not heat with expensive electric power...

Advertisement

viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flickering lights on circuit with low voltage and line voltage bulbs davidwiesel Electrical 4 04-18-2011 09:54 AM
Line Voltage Thermostat Wiring bswigart Electrical 10 11-24-2009 08:10 PM
programmable line voltage therm for fan heat nykije HVAC 1 11-18-2009 10:51 PM
wiring a line voltage programmable thermostat cedar HVAC 0 10-24-2009 11:30 PM
Best Way to Establish Plantings Over Sand flyboy Landscaping & Lawn Care 4 04-07-2009 10:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts