Is Voltage Rating Of 4-pole Disconnect Switch Per Pole? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2012, 01:26 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is voltage rating of 4-pole disconnect switch per pole?


I have a tankless electric water heater running on two 30-amp 240 volt circuits. I want to add a 4-pole disconnect switch near the heater but I can't figure out if I need a disconnect rated at 120V (because 120V is passing through each pole of the switch) or 480V (because 480V is the total passing through all four poles).

The biggest standard 4-pole disconnect I can find is only rated at 400 volts. Anything with a higher rating seems to only be available as a custom-build special order from various companies. If I need a 480V disconnect, does anyone have a good source?

I've read some sites suggest using two 2-pole disconnects but someone over here interprets a section of the national electric code that seems to imply that's not okay because the two 30-amp circuits aren't coming from separate sources.

Advertisement

CDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 05:26 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,468
Rewards Points: 1,292
Default

Is voltage rating of 4-pole disconnect switch per pole?


There is a 240 volt potential on your switch legs, that's the number to work with.

Advertisement


Last edited by zappa; 11-07-2012 at 05:30 AM.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 06:22 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,975
Rewards Points: 2,046
Default

Is voltage rating of 4-pole disconnect switch per pole?


The voltage rating is the smallest maximum voltage sustainable between any two terminals (including the ground terminal) plus a safety margin.

Given two 240 volt branch circuits from the same panel feeding the heater, the maximum voltage between any two of the hot lines or between any one hot line and ground is 240.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 11-07-2012 at 06:26 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (11-07-2012)
Old 11-07-2012, 07:22 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Is voltage rating of 4-pole disconnect switch per pole?


Quote:
Originally Posted by CDragon View Post

I've read some sites suggest using two 2-pole disconnects but someone over here interprets a section of the national electric code that seems to imply that's not okay because the two 30-amp circuits aren't coming from separate sources.
This is NOT true. Post #15 in that thread, along with others, is INCORRECT.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 02:14 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is voltage rating of 4-pole disconnect switch per pole?


Wow, thanks for the fast responses!

I may just go with two 2-pole disconnects, but I'd rather use a 4-pole for a little extra safety (no chance of one getting switched off with the other left on). Unfortunately I've only found one 4-pole that looks like it might work here. Does anyone know if that disconnect can be safely mounted on its own, or does it need an enclosure? It seems like I could leave some wire insulation going into the holes but there wouldn't be much distance between the end of each hole and bare wire so I don't know if that meets code. If not, could I just buy a metal box and mount it inside?

I guess another problem is I don't think there's a place for the ground wires to pass through the box. Although I would think the box would have to have a place for the ground to connect to ground the box... If there's a connection it isn't obvious. Maybe the rail it mounts on is meant to be grounded?
CDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 03:31 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

Is voltage rating of 4-pole disconnect switch per pole?


That is a din rail mounted switch and it needs and enclosure.
Just go with the 2 2 pole disconnects.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
disconnect , pole , switch , tankless water heater


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Convert three way switch setup to a single pole Casey9004 Electrical 13 05-31-2012 09:46 PM
Testing Voltage @ Switch = weirdness anon1 Electrical 12 12-20-2011 07:59 PM
Converting a single pole switch to a 3 way Rze Electrical 7 09-13-2011 01:39 PM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 02:24 AM
Need Help Troubleshooting 3-way + Single Pole Switch Install OmegaRed1723 Electrical 6 10-09-2009 11:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts