Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-13-2010, 02:52 PM   #1

Share |

voltage on earth wire

hi,

last weekend there was a water leak in the house on the main water supply pipe, this pipe is also where the main earth wire for the house is connected. Whilst I was fixing the leak the earth wire became disconnected and at one point I caught it and received a heavy electrical shock. I do have some knowledge of electrics although I am no expert. I started a process of elimination to see if I could find out what was causing the voltage, I disconnected all the appliances in the house and then measured the voltage between the live and earth wires with a multimeter, with everything unplugged there was no voltage reading, when I connected most things there was no change in the voltage but when I connected the washing machine the voltage went to 20v and with the dryer 30v, when I plugged the boiler in it went to 230v

I can only assume from this that there is a problem with the boiler and maybe with the dryer and washing machine, the control unit on the boiler was replaced recently so I am wondering if it wasn't installed correctly, should there be any voltage reading between the live and earth wires under normal circumstances and if so what is an acceptable reading?

Another thing I am not sure about, there is an earth breaker switch installed on the main supply, if there is a leak to earth this should this not trip?

thanks in advance

Spikey

Last edited by Spikeyboy; 10-13-2010 at 03:15 PM.
Spikeyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 03:14 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"

voltage on earth wire

Based on you terminology, I assume you are not in the US. Are you appliances 120/240 volt or are they pure 220 volt?