Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-16-2010, 12:07 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ne
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

voltage difference between legs


Power company came out said there is an internal (inside the house) neutral problem. Anytime a load is placed on the service a difference between the two legs is seen. The bigger the load the larger the difference. What could cause this
john68112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2010, 12:51 AM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

voltage difference between legs


a neutral problem

where specifically are you measuring the voltages?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nap For This Useful Post:
john68112 (12-16-2010)
Old 12-16-2010, 08:20 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,200
Default

voltage difference between legs


Power company is correct. Could be in the meter base. Did the POCO check in the meter? That is their territory. If they did then it is likely the main neutral connection inside your panel.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
john68112 (12-16-2010)
Old 12-16-2010, 09:50 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ne
Posts: 7
Default

voltage difference between legs


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
a neutral problem

where specifically are you measuring the voltages?
Between neutral and the breaker or the feed lines doesnt matter. Someone I talked to said it could be someone has connected a neutral from one leg to the neutral of the other leg somewhere in the house.
john68112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2010, 09:53 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ne
Posts: 7
Default

voltage difference between legs


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Power company is correct. Could be in the meter base. Did the POCO check in the meter? That is their territory. If they did then it is likely the main neutral connection inside your panel.
I replaced weather head, wires, meter socket, fuse panel(installed breaker box)and installed a ground rod.
john68112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2010, 10:06 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

voltage difference between legs


Quote:
Originally Posted by john68112 View Post
Between neutral and the breaker or the feed lines doesnt matter. Someone I talked to said it could be someone has connected a neutral from one leg to the neutral of the other leg somewhere in the house.
Neutral is neutral! It wouldn't matter if they did so.
It means that there's a poorly made neutral connection somewhere.
So current to the load is returning back to the transformer via the other power leg, rather than the neutral.
If this occurs a symptom would be lights being dimmer or brighter than others.
It would be bad for motors in refrigerators, freezers and furnaces.
On service panels that have fuses in the main disconnect, a fault like this is easy to find. However, a breaker panel can be tricky.
A clamp on ammeter would be the best tool for this job.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Wildie For This Useful Post:
john68112 (12-16-2010)
Old 12-16-2010, 10:21 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ne
Posts: 7
Default

voltage difference between legs


how would it return through the other leg when it is not a 220 circuit. The only 220circuit is a dryer nothing else. You are right about motors furnace motor had to be replaced and is was one year old.
john68112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2010, 10:35 PM   #8
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

voltage difference between legs


if you take 2 120 volt circuits that share a neutral and remove the neutral, you now have a 240 volt circuit but the devices are seriesed on that circuit and due to the difference in impedance of the various devices, you will get varied voltage readings.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nap For This Useful Post:
john68112 (12-17-2010)
Old 12-16-2010, 10:39 PM   #9
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,200
Default

voltage difference between legs


Quote:
Originally Posted by john68112 View Post
I replaced weather head, wires, meter socket, fuse panel(installed breaker box)and installed a ground rod.
Did this fix the problem? I hope so, because there is nothing left to change.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
john68112 (12-17-2010)
Old 12-16-2010, 10:42 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

voltage difference between legs


Quote:
Originally Posted by john68112 View Post
how would it return through the other leg when it is not a 220 circuit. The only 220circuit is a dryer nothing else. You are right about motors furnace motor had to be replaced and is was one year old.
Without a clean neutral your home becomes a complex series parallel circuit. Depending where the neutral problem is, will affect the over-all picture.
If you have air conditioning, you will have 220. Electric dryer will have 220. An electric stove as well. In fact your prob. could even be in a stove.
Even if you had none of these, a loose connection in the panel or in the meter base could be the culprit also.
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Wildie For This Useful Post:
john68112 (12-17-2010)
Old 12-16-2010, 11:19 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ne
Posts: 7
Default

voltage difference between legs


Replaced everything new from power company connection (meter socket, panel, dryer wire and plug, ran new wire to range and right now the house has has a gas stove so its not used also installed ground rod). I moved one of the breakers to another position in the panel and it seems to have took some of the variation in voltage away. Someone had added a plug in kitchen, put aplug in the bathroom and took some older 2 prong outlets and replaced with 3 prong at some point in the past a lady told me it was a live in boyfriend of hers that took it upon himself to HELP her out... The furnace gave out later that day when I wiggled the wire feeding it it started up so I ran a new wire to it. One day later it was out again everything was good(meaning transformer and thermostat turned on gas valve) except blower motor would not start I replaced the motor it was fine.
john68112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2010, 11:23 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ne
Posts: 7
Default

voltage difference between legs


No it is still the same I thought the same thing replace it all it would be fixed..
john68112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2010, 11:52 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,352
Default

voltage difference between legs


maybe its time you called in a real electrician. Probably will be cheaper than replacing everything in sight, since he will fix the real problem, instead of shooting in the dark.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 12:17 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ne
Posts: 7
Default

voltage difference between legs


it all needed to be updated it was 1940s technology but thanks for your input
john68112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 06:13 AM   #15
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,674
Default

voltage difference between legs


Quote:
Originally Posted by john68112 View Post
Replaced everything new from power company connection (meter socket, panel, dryer wire and plug, ran new wire to range and right now the house has has a gas stove so its not used also installed ground rod). I moved one of the breakers to another position in the panel and it seems to have took some of the variation in voltage away. Someone had added a plug in kitchen, put aplug in the bathroom and took some older 2 prong outlets and replaced with 3 prong at some point in the past a lady told me it was a live in boyfriend of hers that took it upon himself to HELP her out... The furnace gave out later that day when I wiggled the wire feeding it it started up so I ran a new wire to it. One day later it was out again everything was good(meaning transformer and thermostat turned on gas valve) except blower motor would not start I replaced the motor it was fine.
You are just throwing work at this hoping that it will get better.
CALL AN ELECTRICIAN to find this neutral problem. Unless you are skilled at electrical troubleshooting you are only going to perpetuate the problem, and possibly make it worse.

You say you moved a breaker? Are you sure it was not part of a multi-wire (shared neutral) circuit? If it was you could have possibly fixed the voltage problem, but made just as big of a problem by overloading the neutral of that circuit.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
john68112 (12-17-2010)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
voltage on earth wire Spikeyboy Electrical 13 10-15-2010 11:03 AM
no voltage between legs of a 230v circuit brandonmcginnis Electrical 15 02-14-2010 11:22 PM
Voltage Difference between legs mimitche Electrical 13 05-02-2009 09:37 AM
Low voltage box question WShawn Electrical 7 08-19-2008 06:22 AM
2 - 900w tansformers on a 15A circuit? tonyBagadonuts Electrical 19 07-20-2008 07:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.