Volt/phase To Amp/volt - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2013, 03:36 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

volt/phase to amp/volt


Is a 600 volt three phase service different than a 100 or 200 amp 120/240 volt service?

Advertisement

leigh trethewey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 03:41 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,959
Rewards Points: 2,314
Default

volt/phase to amp/volt


Quote:
Originally Posted by leigh trethewey View Post
Is a 600 volt three phase service different than a 100 or 200 amp 120/240 volt service?
Yes.

120/240 is usually a single phase.
600 volt 3 phase is rare in some parts of the states

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 06:24 PM   #3
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,300
Rewards Points: 2,178
Default

volt/phase to amp/volt


600V three phase is relatively common in industrial uses, typically seen where large motors are in use. As noted previously, 120/240 is single phase service, properly termed split phase.
Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 06:50 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

volt/phase to amp/volt


They are very different in many ways.

Why do you ask?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 07:19 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,355
Rewards Points: 3,504
Blog Entries: 4
Default

volt/phase to amp/volt


600 volt three phase is the standard industrial voltage used in Canada. In US it more commonly 480 volt three phase.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 07:58 PM   #6
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,651
Rewards Points: 2,616
Default

volt/phase to amp/volt


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
600 volt three phase is the standard industrial voltage used in Canada. In US it more commonly 480 volt three phase.
That 'was' about to be my response....
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 08:33 PM   #7
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,632
Rewards Points: 1,058
Default

volt/phase to amp/volt


The two systems are different in almost every way.

Panels and breakers are different, switches and receptacles are different, the loads they serve are different, about the only thing that's the same is they both can use the same wire (but usually different colors).

If the service is 600 volt, the only way to use 120 or 240 volt equipment is with a transformer.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 08:39 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

volt/phase to amp/volt


Hmmm. So that's why 600 volts is a common rating for electrical components including switches and wire. (Other common ratings are 250 and 125 volts). You can use higher voltage rated wire for lower actual voltages.

For series circuits (rare except for Christmas lights) components must be rated for the supply voltage, not the voltage of an individual lamp or component.

For "services" even the 600 volt 3 phase has an amperes rating such as 100 amps. The amperes rating is dictated by wire and meter and component current handling capability, and electric companies offer a small finite number of service choices. The amperes rating of a service is the number of amperes that may be drawn from any one leg or phase.

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 04-26-2013 at 08:47 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts