Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-18-2006, 07:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Volt coming into house


How much is the voltage coming into the meter from the pole and from the meter to the main load center, or Breaker box?

whitepa254 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2006, 09:12 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,859
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Volt coming into house


Unless your house is very old the voltage will be 240

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2006, 09:17 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Volt coming into house


is there a difference in the type or guage of wire running from the pole to the meter and the meter to the main load center for a 100 amp main breaker box and a 200 amp main breaker box?
whitepa254 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2006, 09:30 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Volt coming into house


Absolutely.
You are responsible for all the wiring from the top on the house down to the breaker panel.
200 amp wire is of course larger.
The power company is responsible for the drop from the pole to the house.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 01:28 AM   #5
Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 835
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Volt coming into house


Having worked for a few utility co.s, Our responsibility always ended at the outgoing source of the meter. Your electrician was responsible for the hookup from there. If you have municipal water, their responsibility ends at the outgoing meter spud, not to include the connection. Here, goofy, you may have to make the sewer connection from beyond your setback. There are a lot of variables and they are all gooney.
Teetorbilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 07:52 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Volt coming into house


What gauge wire will I need for the connection to and from the meter I was to get it myself and upgrade from a 100amp to a 200 amp breaker box?
whitepa254 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 08:46 AM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Volt coming into house


Have you done any electrical work before? Not to sound rude but this is NOT a job for an inexperienced DIYer. Many, myself included, don't think this is a DIY project at all.
If you have experience doing this work and are determined to do it then so be it.

For 200 amps you need 2/0cu or 4/0al service entrance cable/conductors.

I would not attempt this without reading this whole web page:
http://www.selfhelpandmore.com/homew...eter/index.htm
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 01:59 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Volt coming into house


I rewired my hole house, and have helped an electrician rewire a few house's before doing my house but I have never installed the service wire to and from the meter or a meter itself before nor have I worked with anyone who has and don't intend on doing it. I just want to buy the wire, meter pan myself and anything else I will need and have an electrician do it for me. I found that you can save money by buying the stuff you need yourself instead of letting the contractor supply it for you. At least around here in va you can.
whitepa254 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 03:45 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Volt coming into house


I hope no offense was taken by my last post but I hope you see my concern.

Again, no offense, but I personally would not do a job where the customer bought all the material.
It's not that I make so much money on material markup but I like to know what I have and to be sure I have everything I need. Also, I am very particular about what material I buy. For instance I will NOT install Emerald brand recessed lights. I have in the past refused jobs where the customer insisted on using them. One small example but you get the idea.

Now this is just me. I'm sure others would have no problem doing this. To some work is work.
I must say, Virginia has a less than stellar reputation when it comes to the electrical field. Workers do not get paid nearly enough and companies cannot charge what they actually require to make a profit. From what I hear it is a nasty situation.

Good luck in what ever you do and I hope it works out.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 04:55 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Volt coming into house


And don't take offense to this but most electricians can tell a good grade wire just by looking at it. Besides All I have to do is buy the type and brand the electrician recommends to me. your replies to my post was just to get a general idea as to what to expect.


Last edited by whitepa254; 02-20-2006 at 05:00 AM.
whitepa254 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cape Cod Style House Attic/Crawl Space Insulation Help Danielg Insulation 24 05-21-2012 08:20 AM
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 04:45 AM
200 Amp service really needed for a 830 sq ft house? overkill? alexz Electrical 7 11-16-2009 05:54 PM
Came home to a hot house! Condensor fan not coming on... austinringding HVAC 12 10-19-2008 08:07 AM
Brick and block house footer question. ourzoo Building & Construction 2 07-01-2006 02:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.