Voip Over Regular Land Line - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2009, 10:45 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Voip Over Regular Land Line


Quote:
Originally Posted by kirridam View Post
I checked almost all the phone jack and they are using only the blue/white and blue wires. All the other wires are not being used. See attached image.

So does it mean that I have to connect all the blue/white wires from all the 9 cables together and all the blue wires from all the 9 cables together?
That's too bad that the installer was that lazy that he didn't hook up the second line; it really isn't that hard and doesn't take that long to hook up 2 more wires.

Yes, you will just need to connect all the blue wires together and all the blue/white wires together. If you are still having issues, I would double check to make sure the phone you are using works on the voip line by plugging it directly into the voip adaptor just to check it out.

Advertisement

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 03:22 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Voip Over Regular Land Line


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
That's too bad that the installer was that lazy that he didn't hook up the second line; it really isn't that hard and doesn't take that long to hook up 2 more wires.

Yes, you will just need to connect all the blue wires together and all the blue/white wires together. If you are still having issues, I would double check to make sure the phone you are using works on the voip line by plugging it directly into the voip adaptor just to check it out.

theatretch85,

It worked!! I'm able to connect to any phone jack and make/receive calls. Thanks a lot for your patience and help. The main reason why I wanted this to be done is b/c DishTV requires a phone connection to the receiver. Since I didn't have any, they charged me $5.00/month! Now I can save that money!! Thanks a lot for your help!!
kirridam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 03:37 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Voip Over Regular Land Line


Quote:
Originally Posted by kirridam View Post
theatretch85,

It worked!! I'm able to connect to any phone jack and make/receive calls. Thanks a lot for your patience and help. The main reason why I wanted this to be done is b/c DishTV requires a phone connection to the receiver. Since I didn't have any, they charged me $5.00/month! Now I can save that money!! Thanks a lot for your help!!
Hey I am glad its working for you now. What was the problem/what did you have to do to make it work? It might prove to be helpful for anyone else in a similar situation that may stumble upon this thread in the future.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 03:49 PM   #19
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,783
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Voip Over Regular Land Line


Since you are not connected to the telephone company, couldn't you simply plug the vonage VOIP box into any telephone jack? Any telephone that you plug in to any other jack should work on the VOIP network.

Last edited by Clutchcargo; 02-01-2009 at 03:52 PM.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 03:55 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Voip Over Regular Land Line


Quote:
Originally Posted by Clutchcargo View Post
Couldn't you simply plug the vonage VOIP box into any telephone jack?
Check out the OP on this thread, he is dealing with a new house and none of the jacks were wired to a telephone company. He has 9 pairs of wires exiting the side of his house with no telco box to wire them up in (the builder did not wire all the jacks in the house together). It just meant he had to wire the pairs together so that the jacks were all interconnected, and then yes it works such that you can plug the vonage line into any jack along with a phone into any jack.

I have yet to see a house wired this way, normally all the pairs in the house are tied together in a central location, and just one pair runs to the outside of the house where it ties into the telco connection. My house here they did a lot of daisy chaining with the phone jacks; poor design but its also an older house too.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 07:49 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Voip Over Regular Land Line


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
Hey I am glad its working for you now. What was the problem/what did you have to do to make it work? It might prove to be helpful for anyone else in a similar situation that may stumble upon this thread in the future.
The last time I tried it, I only connected the blue wires together. This time I connected all the blue/white wires together and all the blue wires together. That pretty much solved the problem.

As for all the other wires, I just left them as it is. Didn't inter-connect any of the other wires.

Thanks for your help!
k

Advertisement

kirridam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solar lighting vs. regular for outdoor hotwired Electrical 8 08-10-2008 03:07 AM
Question about regular & high speed USB's mact60 PC Repairs & Upgrades 3 08-01-2008 06:55 PM
SnapStone vs regular tile nancy-max Flooring 3 05-12-2008 04:32 PM
Stamped and regular concrete-How much $ dc1212 Building & Construction 6 03-24-2007 09:24 PM
Replacing regular glass with low-e in vinyl frame. Doug Crf Building & Construction 1 10-02-2006 07:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts