Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-18-2009, 05:09 AM   #16
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Share |
Default

Violation?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
I agree, WHY?
Completely unnecessary and wasteful.

When I see this to me it screams DIY'er who didn't know what they were doing.
unnecessary and wasteful? not to me.
if and when something trips, i want to be able to follow the cord back to the culprit. i got a box full of brand new gfci's for less than regular outlets at auction so i'll be using them any/everywhere!

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 05:57 AM   #17
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 517
Default

Violation?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
if and when something trips, i want to be able to follow the cord back to the culprit. DM
I have two in my garage, for the same reason. I wanted to make sure the whole circuit wouldn't go down if one tripped. In the basement, though, I have one GFCI protecting all the outlets in the basement office. I used the little stickers on them.
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 08:09 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Violation?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigplanz View Post
Four inch max spacing
Because 90% of the heads of little kids of a certain age will not go through this spacing.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 09:33 AM   #19
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Violation?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Because 90% of the heads of little kids of a certain age will not go through this spacing.
Oh, they'll go. You just have to push them really hard...
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 10:49 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Violation?


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Oh, they'll go. You just have to push them really hard...
You bad, you bad. . .
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 11:02 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Violation?


Almost every outside outlet I have is on a seperate circuit & GFCI
All the GFCI's (blank face) are in a panel in the basement
But that is mainly due to my Christmas display
I think the problem comes in when the GFCI's are not near the outlet that they protect
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 11:53 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Violation?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
I think the problem comes in when the GFCI's are not near the outlet that they protect
This is an interesting dilemma.

You could save money on GFCIs by having very few far upstream and then you have to go hunting for them at $X/hr when an outlet goes dead because you didn't make or couldn't find the "outlet map" for your house. But-there are not many to look for.

Or you could have one at every necessary outlet and spend more on GFs and not do the hunting or the outlet map.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 12:06 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Violation?


Or you get some idiot who hides a GFCI outlet behind a shelf or cabinet in the garage so that you cant find it. Its funny to see how many people have come here with outside outlets not working and it turns out to be a hidden GFCI outlet that is tripped.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 12:10 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Violation?


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
Or you get some idiot who hides a GFCI outlet behind a shelf or cabinet in the garage so that you cant find it. Its funny to see how many people have come here with outside outlets not working and it turns out to be a hidden GFCI outlet that is tripped.
That's exactly what I mean
Each bathroom has it's own circuit & GFCI
Only 1 GFCI on the bathroom that feeds the other outlet
Kitchen - I'll have 3 circuits - 3 GFCI's
One on one wall - will feed a 2nd outlet
Then next wall - will feed a 2nd outlet
Then a 3rd GFCI - may feed another outlet

I do have a basement GFCI that feeds an outside outlet
From when we 1st moved in I needed more power for Christmas

There is a point when that extra $3 for another GFCI really pays off.

Last edited by Scuba_Dave; 05-18-2009 at 07:19 PM.
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 07:17 PM   #25
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,603
Default

Violation?


I usually use dedicated GFIs in commercial/industrial. About the only exception I can think of is a double duplex. I'll feed-through to the adjacent recept., but not to one in another box.

Cheap resi, I'll put one in the garage, and feed-through to the rest of the garage, outside recpt.s, HVAC, crawlspace, etc. I've always run dedicated 20 amp to bathrooms, so they get their own. The two kit circuits have one GFI on each, then feed-through. If I put the fridge on one of the kit curcuits, it's ahead of the GFI.

High-end resi, (and my house) everything that's required to be GFI gets its own GFI, except the kit circuits. They feed-through.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 07:27 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida and Maine
Posts: 6
Default

Violation?


Chances are the first outlet on that circuit is a gfi, it may be in your garage.
tbishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 07:39 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Default

Violation?


There's a simple test to determine whether the particular receptacle has GFI protection. (sorry for stating the obvious. But I never heard or read it mentioned by anyone [else] !
Insert a "pigtail socket" into the "hot" and "grounded" lead instead of the "hot" and "neutral". If the "whatever" (breaker or receptacle "test" button (anywhere in the area) trips, you have GFI protection. Usually, when installing a GFCI receptacle, there come along, in the box, about 6 stickers which state "this outlet is gfci protected" on all the outlets downstream of the GFCI recept. I'm not sure if this is a NEC requirement, but is certainly helpful!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 07:45 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Default

Violation?


An off-topic comment; On your slogan "I am a Pirate, but 200 years late"! Well, Piracy is coming back in style!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 08:00 PM   #29
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Violation?


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
An off-topic comment; On your slogan "I am a Pirate, but 200 years late"! Well, Piracy is coming back in style!!!
It certainly is...
Attached Thumbnails
Violation?-hatilike.jpg  

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
building permit violation Austn General DIY Discussions 30 08-24-2010 05:00 PM
Only 1 inspection violation to correct-HELP! DragonInspector Remodeling 1 04-08-2009 11:15 PM
Lights in same joist space with water pipes - Code violation? jweller Electrical 2 03-15-2009 01:02 PM
Building code violation fetzo Building & Construction 18 03-22-2008 02:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.