Violation? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2009, 04:08 PM   #1
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Violation?


isn't this a violation?
i thought ANY outlets near water source had to be gfic?

tnkx

DM
Attached Thumbnails
Violation?-violation.jpg  

Advertisement

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 04:14 PM   #2
Saftety First!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Violation?


Are you sure that they are not GFCI'd?
Could be a GFCI breaker or a GFCI recept that they are loaded off of.
Did you check in cabinet under sink?

Advertisement

loyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 04:53 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Violation?


It has nothing to do with water. Counter top receptacles require gfci protection.
Are they protected by a breaker?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 05:10 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Violation?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
isn't this a violation?
i thought ANY outlets near water source had to be gfic?

tnkx

DM
Yes, I thought so, within a certain distance, for reasons of a water pipe ground and water being present.
The water removes the current-limiting benefit of the resistance of dry skin, as do voltages >600v.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 05-17-2009 at 05:12 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 05:46 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Violation?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Yes, I thought so, within a certain distance, for reasons of a water pipe ground and water being present.
The water removes the current-limiting benefit of the resistance of dry skin, as do voltages >600v.
No, there is no "within XXX distance to a water source". It may seem that way but that is not how the code is written.

The code also says "GFI PROTECTED". Not "must be GFI". So those receptacles most likely are either off a GFI breaker or loaded out from a nearby GFI device, as the others have said.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 05:48 PM   #6
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Violation?


the one with the switches is gfci, so maybe they're strung from it? didn't think of that.
this is new const. btw. (not my place)

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 07:37 PM   #7
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Violation?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
the one with the switches is gfci, so maybe they're strung from it? didn't think of that.
this is new const. btw. (not my place)
DM
As it is new contruction, and if done properly and inspected- these outlets are highly likely to be GFCI protected- (probably didn't bother with the stickers!) I wired my kitchen like this- 2-20a circuits along the counter being fed by an initial GFCI for each- all the rest are regular outlets but protected by the first in the circuit.
__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 08:07 PM   #8
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,643
Rewards Points: 1,080
Default

Violation?


Trip the GFI, and see what still works.

Rob
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 08:08 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Violation?


You can check for GFCI protection.
With a
http://images.lowes.com/product/conv...64481000md.jpg
and a small incand bulb, 10w or so, run one wire into the short outlet slot and the other into the ground slot.
The light will go out and you'll hear a click somewhere in the house.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 08:09 PM   #10
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 525
Rewards Points: 518
Default

Violation?


Quote:
Originally Posted by handyman78 View Post
As it is new contruction, and if done properly and inspected- these outlets are highly likely to be GFCI protected- (probably didn't bother with the stickers!) I wired my kitchen like this- 2-20a circuits along the counter being fed by an initial GFCI for each- all the rest are regular outlets but protected by the first in the circuit.
The little stickers don't stay on long, at least not in a kitchen or bathroom, where, oh, they are most likely to be used, if used at all.
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 08:20 PM   #11
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Violation?


not my home, so i don't really care. i was just curious.
personally, i think i'd use individual gfci's for each.

the outdoor balusters were also more than 4" spaces between.
THAT is wrong, no?

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 09:19 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Violation?


I've never seen the stickers anywhere
Except for the ones in my own house that I put up
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 09:29 PM   #13
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Violation?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
not my home, so i don't really care. i was just curious.
personally, i think i'd use individual gfci's for each.
Why? That is an un-necessary expense.

Quote:
the outdoor balusters were also more than 4" spaces between.
THAT is wrong, no?

DM
That is more of a local building code. I have heard 4" or 6" depending on where I was.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 09:33 PM   #14
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Violation?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
personally, i think i'd use individual gfci's for each.
I agree, WHY?
Completely unnecessary and wasteful.

When I see this to me it screams DIY'er who didn't know what they were doing.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 04:42 AM   #15
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 525
Rewards Points: 518
Default

Violation?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post

the outdoor balusters were also more than 4" spaces between.
THAT is wrong, no?

DM
Four inch max spacing, at least here in Louisville.

Advertisement

Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
building permit violation Austn General DIY Discussions 30 08-24-2010 06:00 PM
Only 1 inspection violation to correct-HELP! DragonInspector Remodeling 1 04-09-2009 12:15 AM
Lights in same joist space with water pipes - Code violation? jweller Electrical 2 03-15-2009 02:02 PM
Building code violation fetzo Building & Construction 18 03-22-2008 03:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts