VFD Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2013, 08:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 20
Default

VFD Question


Does anyone here know about VFDs? I don't want to burden the forum if it is not appropriate here.

Advertisement

silvercbx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 10:03 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

VFD Question


What is your question?

Advertisement

GoldenSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 01:23 AM   #3
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,657
Rewards Points: 2,626
Default

VFD Question


Variable Frequency Drive....typically used for 3 phase motors....but there are single phase....and some single phase in to 3 phase (used to power 3ph off a 240Vac line)

So....as Golden says....."question?"
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 02:06 AM   #4
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,572
Rewards Points: 2,040
Default

VFD Question


A bunch of us here know quite a bit about VFDs.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 10:59 AM   #5
Stuck in the 70's
 
Blondesense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: south central Missouri
Posts: 2,163
Rewards Points: 1,020
Default

VFD Question


Volunteer Fire Departments?



Sorry.
Blondesense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 11:08 AM   #6
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,657
Rewards Points: 2,626
Default

VFD Question


Very Fine Diva's?
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 11:18 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,021
Rewards Points: 2,222
Default

VFD Question


Some of the military equipment we manufactured where I used to work had VFDs to control the speed of 3-phase, high-pressure pumps in reverse osmosis water purification systems. All I really know about them is that they were large (about the size of a dorm room fridge) very, very expensive, and complicated to program.
md2lgyk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 02:30 PM   #8
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,657
Rewards Points: 2,626
Default

VFD Question


Vacuum fluorescent display

V.F.D., a secret organization within Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events

Virtual Floppy Driver

Virtual Floppy Disk

Vicarius Filii Dei
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 06:58 PM   #9
Plumber/Contractor
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 7,270
Rewards Points: 2,616
Default

VFD Question


Worked with freq drives on hydronic systems before
I set the pump, electrician wired, controls did their part. We all stood and watched during start up- pretty simple really
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
TheEplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 08:52 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 20
Default

VFD Question


What I am contemplating is a test bed to check out Motorcycle Alternators used on the Honda CBX. It is a 360W enclosed unit that is independent of the engine. I plan to mount the Alternator on a frame and a driving motor to spin it, either at the motor rpm or use a step-up pulley system to increase the rpm. From what little I have learned, so far, is that the VFD can be used to vary the speed of the motor. The one I have in mind is a single phase input with a 3-phase output to a 3 phase, 3/4 hp motor. The vfd will also step up the motor from the 120V input to 230V output, which matches the motor input. To avoid overheating at lower speeds, I plan to set up a couple of small cooling fans aimed at the motor. In case you're interested in exact components, the Grainger P/Ns are: VFD - 5WJK2 and MOTOR - 11w351. To me, the components seem to match ok and with some minor engineering, I think I can couple the motor to the Alternator without too much trouble.
I'm in new territory here, never having dealt with VFDs before; any pitfalls? Any comments on the grand plan?
Thanks (and for all the various definitions
silvercbx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 10:23 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 851
Rewards Points: 610
Default

VFD Question


What is the speed range that you expect to be running the motor at ?

Last edited by SPS-1; 08-28-2013 at 11:00 PM.
SPS-1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 01:36 AM   #12
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,657
Rewards Points: 2,626
Default

VFD Question


I understand what your wanting to do...VFD is a good application....

But I would suggest keeping your costs down and maybe going with a single phase to single phase setup......

If you have not bought the motor yet....hold off....as soon as I get to work in the morning I'll send you some more exact details.

AB has a power flex VFD that is in the $500 range for the HP your wanting to use.

What is the maximum AC power you have available?
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 12:19 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

VFD Question


Keep in mind, many VFD today can out out up to 400 HZ, maybe even more.
So the base speed requirement is very important.

The motor you purchase should be the right RPM. You can exceed the motor rated RPM (base speed), but you loose torque proportional to the increase over base speed.
Same with under speed. Less torque.

So how hard is the alternator to turn over? If its light load better for you.

3 phase motors are cheaper and much more reliable than ac motors. I would stick with your idea.
Single phase input to VFD and three phase output to the motor.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 12:44 PM   #14
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,657
Rewards Points: 2,626
Default

VFD Question


Your typical AC motor is going to be either 1200, 1800 or 3600 RPM if running on 60 hz.

Here is a link to the Allen Bradley PowerFlex 4. They have one that is 120Vac in...230Vac 3ph out.....

http://literature.rockwellautomation...r008_-en-p.pdf

I can give you the contact info for a local rep...

You need to do 2 things....figure out what motor you want and what VFD will drive it....
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 09:09 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 20
Default

VFD Question


Well, I'm feeling a little overwhelmed! I read (skimmed) the AllenBradley stuff and just got lost in all the specs; most of which I don't think I'm concerned with. But I did think about it and have some question(s) and further info.
1) Am I correct in believing that the variable speed control is done by varying the FREQUENCY? Prior to discovering VFD, I always thought speed was varied by chopping the VOLTAGE but is than now 'old school'? Just for learning, how does varying the Frequency change the motor speed?
2) The particular motor I am looking at has a shaft speed of 3420. I like that speed as I can double it with a pulley set-up and drive the Alternator to over 6000 rpm, something I want to do (the CBX can hit over 9K rpm and running between 4K and 7K rpm on the open road is normal)(Just as an FYI [in case you 'might' be interested] this is a 6-cylinder bike and has a fantastically rapid acceleration rate, so they put a mechanical clutch between the Drive and the Alternator to protect internal parts.) Anyway, testing the Alternator at 6840 rpm will tell me all I need to know about it. Being able to change the pulley set-up to drive the Alt at very low speeds (500 rpm or more) is very important as it is needed to know when it begins charging into the battery system.
3) I was told that 750 Watts = 1 HP, so the Alternator at 360 Watts will require just a little less than 1/2 HP to drive it (under full 30 amp load). I kind of figure that doubling the speed of the motor (with pulleys) will place extra load on the motor but I think a 3/4 HP motor can handle it (besides, their is a HUGH jump in costs when I move into the 1 HP level - both in the VFD and the Motor). Of course, the factor of reduced torque at higher and lower motor speeds is a factor I have no way of determining.
4) What little contact I had with 3 phase motors during my years with IBM did let me agree that they are better than single phase motors for what I'm trying to do. But I have no technical experience with them. I only picked that motor because it had the right rpm and the price was good. As I am big on reliability, if anyone has a better motor (than doesn't pick my pocket), I'd be obliged.
5) To my uneducated eye (very), this is a simple speed control project; no programming, no remote. All I want to do is mount the Alternator, select the pulley range and turn it on, varying the speed by just turning a knob (pot, rheostat, whatever). I'll rig up a photo tach on the shaft to see a visual of the Alt rpm at any given setting. I'll build an electrical testing setup to measure the amperage and voltage from the 3 stator windings and what the Rotor amperage draw is (I might even scope it but I think meters and selective switches will do the job ok.
I do appreciate all of the input; I hate being ignorant in this area but...........
Thanks

Advertisement

silvercbx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Aluminum Siding prep question aribert Painting 6 03-14-2013 02:48 PM
DRIcore question trailblazer1229 Flooring 0 02-24-2010 10:25 AM
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 01:45 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 09:24 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts