Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-19-2012, 08:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Very frustrating puzzling issue with sconce install


I REALLY need some help as this is so puzzling to me!

Here is a bit of background it case it might help. We live in a 5 yr old house and recently had the bathroom painted.

The painters removed the two (working) vanity sconces to paint but since we hadn't received a replacement we didn't put anything there until now.

The problem is that it isn't working. The sconces called for a certain light bulb, we got them, tried but it wouldn't work. We plugged in the older sconces, they don't work either. With the volt meter is shows that electricity is going through.

I am not sure if they could have messed up something because clearly whomever did it, didn't know what they were doing and cut the wire OF THE SCONCE right at its base (so the sconce was ruined), we noticed that later one.

Now, we tested the lights in the regular switch, they work. We opened up the double dimmer switch that commends the sconces and the ceiling light, it works.

So, it seems like the problem is that not enough electricity is going through but why? The breaker box looks good too. Also, when we first installed the new sconces, we thought they might have been defective or we had somehow the wrong bulbs so we tried several different ones. My husband put it a funky Philipps Candelabra light that was like a 2W or something and that worked but obviously had a very weak light.

Anyone has an idea at all, I am beyond frustrated and have no idea what's going on :/

Any help would be welcome!!!

vouvoune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 09:48 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,344
Default

Very frustrating puzzling issue with sconce install


If you can tell us what wires are in the boxes and how you connected them up we might be able to help you.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 07:27 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,243
Default

Very frustrating puzzling issue with sconce install


Quote:
Originally Posted by vouvoune View Post
With the volt meter is shows that electricity is going through.


So, it seems like the problem is that not enough electricity is going through but why?
What was the voltage reading on the voltmeter?
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 08:04 AM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

Very frustrating puzzling issue with sconce install


I can't make heads or tails of the OP. All I know is that their sconces don't work.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 08:05 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sk. Canada
Posts: 412
Default

Very frustrating puzzling issue with sconce install


What type are the special sconce bulbs? Are the dimmers compatable with the special sconce bulbs? What type of device are you using to tell if things are working, or electicity is passing through?
daveb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 08:20 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,634
Default

Very frustrating puzzling issue with sconce install


Someone cut the wires, now the dimmers don't work.
Replace the dimmers with switches and start from there.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 11:59 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Very frustrating puzzling issue with sconce install


So sorry if the post didn't make total sense, it is hard to explain in a text.

We finally figured out that even though the meter said the power was going through it just wasn't enough of it to light up the bulbs. So, just like JBFAN said (great summary too!), we worked our way up and ended up changing the dimmers and that was where the problem was.

vouvoune is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light installation


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Decking Issue after new roof install CrankyDragon Roofing/Siding 12 07-04-2011 10:26 AM
Aude Timer Install Issue Jimmy G Electrical 2 06-30-2010 10:32 PM
Wire Length AFCI breaker install issue 205bhamjim Electrical 5 02-24-2010 02:33 PM
Diagonal Hardwood Install Advice JDeFuria Flooring 7 06-29-2009 03:35 PM
Tub surround install issue OriginalSterm Remodeling 4 09-11-2008 07:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.