Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-17-2011, 12:41 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southeastern Massachusetts
Posts: 106
Rewards Points: 75
Default

using third conductor as ground


Is it OK to re-label the third (red) conductor in a 3C wire as ground, provided that you wrap green tape around the ends in the panel and device?

debiasio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 12:58 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

using third conductor as ground


Absolutely not.
WHY would you need to???

Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 12:58 PM   #3
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

using third conductor as ground


__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 01:04 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southeastern Massachusetts
Posts: 106
Rewards Points: 75
Default

using third conductor as ground


The original wiring of my house brought two circuits up to the 2nd floor using a three conductor wire (red, blk, white, but no ground). The red feed no longer drives a circuit. So I was thinking I can now strip that wire of its red insulation, and treat it as ground in the panel. So now I essentialy have one 2C wire w/ground coming to the junction box, and any down stream devices' gnd wires would tie into the previously red wire.
debiasio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 01:58 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southeastern Massachusetts
Posts: 106
Rewards Points: 75
Default

using third conductor as ground


answered my own question...NEC 250.119 says that for 6 AWG conductors or smaller, the EGC must be bare or have green insulation.
debiasio is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to debiasio For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (04-17-2011), Saturday Cowboy (04-17-2011)
Old 04-17-2011, 09:49 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

using third conductor as ground


What type of cable you have ?

BTW please do not remark red for other useage at all per NEC code anything smaller than 16mm˛ { #6 AWG } must be bare or green anything larger it can be remarked.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 09:52 PM   #7
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

using third conductor as ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by debiasio View Post
answered my own question...NEC 250.119 says that for 6 AWG conductors or smaller, the EGC must be bare or have green insulation.
DING! Ding Ding we have a winner!! Thanks for looking up the code. It is refreshing to see someone do something but ask why! Most people just want us to bless there shoddy work so they can sleep at night.

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To ground or not to ground Red Squirrel Electrical 2 10-14-2010 08:42 PM
Wiring an outlet using both ground screws instead of pig-tailing together. cabber24 Electrical 5 08-26-2010 08:40 AM
Electrical Ground Problem cabinetman Electrical 15 01-28-2010 04:55 PM
Live ground wire in dryer Retired sailor Electrical 10 05-04-2009 03:26 PM
Grounding VS Bonding BillyD Electrical 24 06-22-2008 12:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.