Using My Mums Piping As A Conductor - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2013, 09:33 PM   #16
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor




I'm glad you came on here and asked. Just to let you know, you have to run a cable with 3 separate hot, neutral, and earth wires, someone could get electrocuted with a setup like this.

You need to disconnect what you've done as soon as possible.

Advertisement


Last edited by Kyle_in_rure; 07-02-2013 at 09:36 PM.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 10:24 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,026
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


My God, where do these people come from?? Why haven't they all killed themselves off by now??
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 10:49 PM   #18
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,976
Rewards Points: 2,222
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
This HAS to be a troll thread. Nobody is this stupid.

But in the event that it isn't, current is now flowing thru most metal in the house. You have created a SERIOUS shock hazard. You need to undo what you have done and never, I repeat, NEVER touch electrical work again.
Cutchey.... I honestly think you are a trole also.

Realize, that if we really think that you may be a troll, that just means what you have done is absurd and dangerous and what you have done is exactly what K-buz has explained.

But IF YOU ARE GOOFIN and a troll... great job.... ya sorta got us. Afew ideas, if you do love your mum, I'd get her a full neoprene diving suit to protect her from your wiring. However, if a big inheritrance is at issue, and you're that type of son, you may want to forego the receptical and wire her up direct.

IF YOU ARE NOT KIDDING.... TURN OFF YOUR MAIN... AND GET A SPARKY OUT THERE IMMEDIATELY.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 11:10 PM   #19
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,221
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


Here's the problem with something like this, 99% of the time it will probably be safe and work fine BUT there's lot of things that can still go wrong. Now imagine you hire a plumber, or do your own plumbing and cut the pipe and there are no other paths to ground. If you touch the cut pipe and ground you WILL be that path! Turning off breakers is normally not something that comes to mind when doing plumbing.

Just run a dedicated line as suggested and do it properly. While ground and neutral are at the same potential they are not to be treated the same way and ground (the pipe) should never be used to carry current.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 12:02 AM   #20
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


Quote:
Originally Posted by cutchycoo View Post
I wonder if any of you brainiaks can help,
my mum wanted a electrical 240 watt socket putting in her bedroom upstairs, the easiest way i have done it is by running a wire from the light switch and was told i needed a neutral conductor, i looked on the websites at the weekend and found that all pipes in the house are neutral, so i have used a proper pipe clamp( that plumbers use) and ran another wire from here, it all works fine except if u turn the light off my mums tv goes off, (she watches tv with the light on now). The only problem is that my friend at college says this is not the correct way to do it.
any advice would be super.
That part you will have to stop right there and I know you are in either UK or Ireland due some of the words is dead giveaway to me due I am in France.

Get a hold of the sparkys in your area they will help you to string it correct without any damage to the system.

That all I can say for now.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (07-03-2013)
Old 07-03-2013, 12:41 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


Quote:
Originally Posted by cutchycoo View Post
well thanks for the advice from most of you guys, no real need for the smartass comments though, i have checked what i have done and gonna put it right at the weekend, ihave told my mum to wear wellies ( wellington boots) until i get round on sunday.
The smartass comments are, indeed, required for this situation. You should be tarred and feathered if you EVER touch that wiring again.

CALL IN AN ELECTRICIAN AND PUT YOUR MOTHER'S SAFETY FIRST.

I can't believe the stupidity!
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 08:13 AM   #22
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,762
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk
My God, where do these people come from?? Why haven't they all killed themselves off by now??
Ever since they starting putting warning labels on things. Now that some of these people have survived this is what we get.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 11:54 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
This HAS to be a troll thread. Nobody is this stupid.
K. One time at a factory I was rewiring a baling press. A real big one.
I found several limit switches with only one wire going to them.

Yes. He took the other terminal and grounded it.

Good thing they were installing a PLC and ALL the wiring was replaced.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 01:00 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SE Pa.
Posts: 118
Rewards Points: 75
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


Quote:
Originally Posted by cutchycoo View Post
…, it all works fine except if u turn the light off my mums tv goes off, (she watches tv with the light on now). ..
hahahahahahahaha…! (Whoops I have to go pee). Back now!

I know you guys are pretty smart hombres because I follow your discussions all the time. But I think cuchycoo gotcha here!!

(I know- I figured it out - you know he is probably a troll but you are doing the right thing just in case he is that crazy and you are trying to prevent a catastrophe. I guess you should be commended!)

p.s. his mums life insurance company probably thanks you
agoodboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to agoodboy For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (07-03-2013)
Old 07-03-2013, 03:36 PM   #25
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


You never know.......
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 11:06 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,026
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
Ever since they starting putting warning labels on things. Now that some of these people have survived this is what we get.
Yes, I suppose you're right. It astounds me how many idiotic warning labels come on things as simple as a folding ladder. Fortunately, most are easily removed and I waste no time doing it. I don't loan my tools to anyone (not even family) but if I did, I'd probably get sued sooner or later.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 12:51 AM   #27
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk

Yes, I suppose you're right. It astounds me how many idiotic warning labels come on things as simple as a folding ladder. Fortunately, most are easily removed and I waste no time doing it. I don't loan my tools to anyone (not even family) but if I did, I'd probably get sued sooner or later.
It's like the warnings about keeping blow dryers out of bathtubs, or keeping tv antennas away from power lines.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 03:24 AM   #28
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,221
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle_in_rure View Post
It's like the warnings about keeping blow dryers out of bathtubs, or keeping tv antennas away from power lines.
Wait, you mean I can't connect the TV antenna directly to the power line to get better reception?
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 10:59 AM   #29
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel

Wait, you mean I can't connect the TV antenna directly to the power line to get better reception?
I think you'd get more signal than you'd ever want.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 12:09 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,026
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle_in_rure View Post
I think you'd get more signal than you'd ever want.
Yeah, but for a very short time.

Advertisement

md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Galvanized piping and Rough in valve geomeo Plumbing 5 10-13-2012 11:11 PM
Piping Layout for New Bathroom structman Plumbing 2 02-23-2010 06:24 PM
NEC Junction Box Conductor FIll: A Single Splice is counted as Two Conductors? Lovegasoline Electrical 7 12-02-2009 11:44 PM
two 20amp circuits on 12/3 wire Red Squirrel Electrical 18 08-14-2009 08:02 PM
Range Outlet Receptical Wiring - PICS nave Electrical 45 05-29-2008 07:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts