Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-02-2013, 03:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Lightbulb

using my mums piping as a conductor


I wonder if any of you brainiaks can help,
my mum wanted a electrical 240 watt socket putting in her bedroom upstairs, the easiest way i have done it is by running a wire from the light switch and was told i needed a neutral conductor, i looked on the websites at the weekend and found that all pipes in the house are neutral, so i have used a proper pipe clamp( that plumbers use) and ran another wire from here, it all works fine except if u turn the light off my mums tv goes off, (she watches tv with the light on now). The only problem is that my friend at college says this is not the correct way to do it.
any advice would be super.

cutchycoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 03:39 PM   #2
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,568
Rewards Points: 2,466
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


BIG BIG NO NO.

If for some reason the pipe was to loose it's connection to the neutral source, it could be charged with full voltage...it would be real obvious the first time you touched any of the faucets.....real fun if it's in the shower.....

So....toss that idea out of your head...

__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 03:44 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


do u think i should go back and make sure the connection is tight on the clamp, only trouble is she has already paid me fo it...
cutchycoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 03:52 PM   #4
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,568
Rewards Points: 2,466
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


She needs to pay you to UNDO it....I don't care how tight the clamp is....using plumbing pipes as a current carrying device (even it if is the neutral) is a MAJOR safety hazard.

Unless of course your in her will...........
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (07-02-2013)
Old 07-02-2013, 04:04 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,342
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


This HAS to be a troll thread. Nobody is this stupid.

But in the event that it isn't, current is now flowing thru most metal in the house. You have created a SERIOUS shock hazard. You need to undo what you have done and never, I repeat, NEVER touch electrical work again.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
CENTERLINE MV (07-03-2013), electures (07-03-2013), halfamp (07-02-2013), J. V. (07-03-2013), mpoulton (07-02-2013), MTN REMODEL LLC (07-02-2013), oh'mike (07-03-2013), rjniles (07-02-2013), sirsparksalot (07-03-2013), Speedy Petey (07-02-2013)
Old 07-02-2013, 05:03 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


Give her the money back, undo what you have done and call an electrician.
hacksawjiw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 05:17 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


well thanks for the advice from most of you guys, no real need for the comments though, i have checked what i have done and gonna put it right at the weekend, ihave told my mum to wear wellies ( wellington boots) until i get round on sunday.
cutchycoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 05:21 PM   #8
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,568
Rewards Points: 2,466
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


Thank you for listening to the advice...but it's hard not to make a smartass comment when something so dangerous is done.

I assumed you were in the UK when you refereed to your mother as "mum".

Mind the gap............
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 05:30 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


thanks ddaw, no im irish. DIY is my thang but not electrics although i suppose even the top engineer types have gotta start somewhere..
cutchycoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 05:33 PM   #10
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,568
Rewards Points: 2,466
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


North or South? I've been to Belfast 'many' times....
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 05:41 PM   #11
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,668
Rewards Points: 2,094
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


Quote:
Originally Posted by cutchycoo View Post
I wonder if any of you brainiaks can help,
my mum wanted a electrical 240 watt socket putting in her bedroom upstairs, the easiest way i have done it is by running a wire from the light switch and was told i needed a neutral conductor, i looked on the websites at the weekend and found that all pipes in the house are neutral, so i have used a proper pipe clamp( that plumbers use) and ran another wire from here, it all works fine except if u turn the light off my mums tv goes off, (she watches tv with the light on now). The only problem is that my friend at college says this is not the correct way to do it.
any advice would be super.
Here is some advice. Turn off the main breaker and call a licensed electrician before you electrocute your mom. You charged your own mother to electrocute her?
__________________
" A lot of men build things, and a lot of things fall down "

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jagans For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (07-03-2013)
Old 07-02-2013, 06:19 PM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,876
Rewards Points: 2,106
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


Quote:
Originally Posted by cutchycoo View Post
well thanks for the advice from most of you guys, no real need for the smartass comments though, i have checked what i have done and gonna put it right at the weekend, ihave told my mum to wear wellies ( wellington boots) until i get round on sunday.
Sorry, you are not allowed to get offended when you've done something SO dumb as this. You have proven that you know just enough to be dangerous, and not a stitch more.

I am in the camp of PLEASE DO NOT do ANY more electrical work for anyone, even yourself!!
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
J. V. (07-03-2013), Jim Port (07-02-2013), sirsparksalot (07-03-2013)
Old 07-02-2013, 06:22 PM   #13
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,568
Rewards Points: 2,466
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


Come on guys....let's lighten up.....the OP got the message and will correct it....at least they came here asking....
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (07-02-2013), oh'mike (07-03-2013)
Old 07-02-2013, 06:25 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


Quote:
Originally Posted by cutchycoo View Post
i have checked what i have done and gonna put it right at the weekend, ihave told my mum to wear wellies ( wellington boots) until i get round on sunday.
Yeah, she can wait till the weekend if Mum wears her "Wellies"
Handyncheap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 06:28 PM   #15
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,729
Rewards Points: 1,338
Default

using my mums piping as a conductor


Wearing "wellies" (rubber rain boots) is not protection.

Is this a single family home or an apartment (flat) ? Others may also be at risk.

Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Galvanized piping and Rough in valve geomeo Plumbing 5 10-13-2012 11:11 PM
Piping Layout for New Bathroom structman Plumbing 2 02-23-2010 06:24 PM
NEC Junction Box Conductor FIll: A Single Splice is counted as Two Conductors? Lovegasoline Electrical 7 12-02-2009 11:44 PM
two 20amp circuits on 12/3 wire Red Squirrel Electrical 18 08-14-2009 08:02 PM
Range Outlet Receptical Wiring - PICS nave Electrical 45 05-29-2008 07:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.