Using Mountig Secrew For Grounding - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2010, 11:39 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: northern NJ
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 77
Default

using mountig secrew for grounding


at couple locations, the original installer looped the ground wire around the mounting screw of the switch in stead of using the "ground screw." i have found this for both plastic as well as metal boxes.

while the contact seems to be good so the grounding is being achieved, i thought this a code violation. is it?

Advertisement


Last edited by drgkjd; 05-27-2010 at 11:41 PM. Reason: typo
drgkjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 01:02 AM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

using mountig secrew for grounding


yes it is. a ground screw is required for a ground connection

basically, if the device comes loose, the wire may not be held against the metal and you could lose your ground connection.

Now, there is such a thing as a "self grounding device" where the mounting screws into a metal box are acceptable as the EGC to the device but a wire wrapped around the screw is never acceptable.

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nap For This Useful Post:
drgkjd (05-28-2010)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts