Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-21-2011, 03:49 AM   #1

Share |

using light fixture to power 40" lcd tv?

Hi all this is my first time posting,

so my question is what do I need to determine if a power cable coming out of the wall is sufficient to power something like an 40" lcd tv? The power cable was used by a light fixture that was mounted on the wall in my flat and looks quite thick. So in other words if I can find out what the power consumption is of my tv how can I determine if the cable in the wall can supply it.

As a side note, I don't have a multimeter but I'm willing to purchase one, I'm just not sure what to look for if I'm going to use it on high voltage cables (220v).

For those wondering why the heck I'm asking this, here is the background story for the question:

So I'm planning to put a pool table in my lounge and because of space constraints I want to mount my tv on the wall so it remains visible from my couch and so that it wont get knocked over or bumped by a pool cue.

The problem is that I'm renting the place so I cant really just drill large holes into the wall without losing out on my deposit. After some thinking I spotted the wall mounted light, which happens to be in the perfect spot for my flat screen to be mounted.

So I got the idea that I can take off the light fixture mounted in the wall and place the bracket on top, so that I can cover up the holes when I move out by just replacing the light fixture.

So after removing the fixture (ensured the mains was off) I saw that it was simply a bulb fixture connected to wires coming out of the wall with a chocolate block (is this normal??). This lead me to the idea that maybe I can just power the tv from there which would be much more neat than cables running up the wall.

good idea? bad idea?

hoszor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 06:25 AM   #2