Using Half Of A Double-pole Breaker. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2011, 04:11 PM   #1
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Using half of a double-pole breaker.

I have a 50amp/240V Spa GFCI disconnect panel on the back of my house. I no longer have a spa, and the panel is not being used for anything. I want to add a 20amp 110v outlet next to the panel.

Is there any issue with borrowing 1 of the hot wires from the panel, along with the neutral and ground? I would just put a cap on the other hot wire. I know the voltage would be right, but my concern is that the breaker back in the Main panel is 50amps, so it would take a lot to trip it.

Thanks in advance.


timmed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 04:25 PM   #2
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10

I'd replace the disconnect with an outdoor subpanel with a couple circuits in it. You can pick up a 2/4 70 amp outdoor subpanel new at Lowe's for $20. That way you can size your breaker as you want. Either that or replace the breaker in the main panel with a single pole breaker of the correct size.


Dahammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 04:31 PM   #3
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 305
Rewards Points: 320

You are right in that the breaker is too big to trip a 20 amp circuit. The 50 amp breaker is protecting the wire that is there now. The easiest thing to do would be to replace the breaker with a 20 amp breaker but the wire is likely a #6 and I am not sure that it would fit a 20 amp breaker. You could replace the spa disconnect with a small sub panel and install a 20 amp breaker in it and run your new circuit from there.
teamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 05:05 PM   #4
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Thanks for the replies, gentlemen. I like the idea of the outdoor subpanel, and will pursue that. Just for the sake of curiosity, would it have caused a problem to use just one half of that double-pole breaker? I know the amperage of the breaker was too high, but beyond that using 1 hot wire would just be a normal 110v right?
timmed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 05:37 PM   #5
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,824
Rewards Points: 3,754

Simply using one half of a double breaker is not a problem.
You will get the 120 volts.

But ordinary lights and receptacles must be protected by breakers not greater than 20 amps, hence the idea of a subpanel.
States can help recovery from hurricanes and tornadoes by not requiring due digence or prompt and timely correction of substandard conditions, and by providing continued liability insurance where companies drop homeowners.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 06:44 PM   #6
Wire Chewer
Red Squirrel's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,286
Rewards Points: 2,150

If you're going to do that, may as well use the whole breaker and make it a MWBC. But since the breaker is over 20 amps I'd just go with the mini sub panel idea mentioned.


Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single Pole Breaker VS. Quad Breaker Livewire78 Electrical 37 11-28-2012 08:26 AM
Single breaker vs double pole breaker for MAIN tuckerz Electrical 11 11-16-2009 06:42 PM
Slimline Vs. Tandem Vs. Double Pole turd hurder Electrical 1 06-23-2008 03:00 AM
single vs. double breaker Neil_K Electrical 3 11-14-2004 11:02 PM
2 pole breaker Unregistered Electrical 3 09-11-2004 11:15 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1