Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-08-2008, 09:25 AM   #16
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,860
Rewards Points: 2,514
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Using ground wire for 3 way switch?


The kid is dead and that is very sad. However there is lot of untold stuff and misinformation as to why. There was other problems besdies the ground as current carrying conductor, with this installaton and probably some fault with the door opener.

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2008, 05:35 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Using ground wire for 3 way switch?


Quote:
So how exactly does a garage door become hot?
One possible scenario.

The "electrician" forgets a switch leg for the garage lights (or forgot the GDO outlet)

He finds the feed for the garage door opener originating in the house, uses the neutral for his sw leg and the ground for his neutral.

He installs the ground/neutral wire to the ground terminal on the outlet.

Somehow (bad connection/loose wire??) he loses the neutral somewhere between the box he monkeyed with and the source.

The currrent from the GDO/lights is being carried to "ground" via the ground pin on the GDO, thru the metal harware, thru the door to the wet driveway.



Quote:
There was other problems besdies the ground as current carrying conductor, with this installaton and probably some fault with the door opener.
Possibly but not necessarily.

Last edited by 220/221; 04-08-2008 at 05:37 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2008, 08:52 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 54
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Using ground wire for 3 way switch?


I had a call about a garage door being installed and zapped the installer with 120v.

Found the original underground feed was rotten (old cast iron plumbing pipe used as grounding conductor). Ungrounded conductor was cut and heating up the garage side of pipe.

Door opener guy will check for power on his tracks from now on.

From what I remember he got hit twice..he didn't believe it was possible the first time.
NAIL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 11:35 AM   #19
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Using ground wire for 3 way switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by CowboyAndy View Post
So how exactly does a garage door become hot?
A short circuit, putting 120 volts on the door, with no low impedance path back to the source to open the circuit breaker. The door would be mounted to wood framing, and would have a rubber gasket at the bottom. That would insulated the door until a wet little boy contacted the door and the cement driveway. The missing equipment grounding conductor is the cause. That electrician is very lucky I am not that little boy's grandfather.

jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 09:34 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Can you wire a 3-way circuit with 2 wire + ground mnyman2003 Electrical 8 12-04-2007 08:23 AM
Two ground wires for one switch, none for another? josquin Electrical 5 07-01-2007 02:31 PM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 06:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.