Using Duct Seal Properly. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2012, 07:10 PM   #1
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Using duct seal properly.


I am going to be using some duct seal I have never used this stuff and would like to know if I should use it on the main service in the garage and in the mobile home panel or just in the mobile home panel. Garage is not heated. Conduit goes from the the garage to the mobile home one continuous run.

Advertisement

rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 07:18 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 135
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Using duct seal properly.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
I am going to be using some duct seal I have never used this stuff and would like to know if I should use it on the main service in the garage and in the mobile home panel or just in the mobile home panel. Garage is not heated. Conduit goes from the the garage to the mobile home one continuous run.
If the conduit goes from the garage to the mobile home, then yes I would duct seal both ends of the conduit. Anywhere where cold air can get into a heated section (i.e. your conduit) you should seal to prevent frost, condensation and ice dams.

Advertisement

hawkeye11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 08:32 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Using duct seal properly.


Thank you. I will be sure to use it on both ends.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 10:14 PM   #4
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Using duct seal properly.


I use it around the outside of areas where conduit penetrates walls,on the inside of pipes I just use fiberglass insulation to seal things.
If you have access to a place that sells hvac supplies you might see if you can pick up a box of thumb gum,its easier to work with than that stiff black/grey duct seal stuff you get at box stores
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 10:28 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Using duct seal properly.


I actually used an old dryer vent hole to run the conduit through the floor and I am going to relocate that through the outside wall. Probably will have to use expanding foam for that large hole. It's safe to use insulation in the conduit?
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 11:19 PM   #6
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Using duct seal properly.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
I actually used an old dryer vent hole to run the conduit through the floor and I am going to relocate that through the outside wall. Probably will have to use expanding foam for that large hole. It's safe to use insulation in the conduit?
Ive never had an inspector complain,its easier to work with if you ever need to remove it
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 05:57 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,471
Rewards Points: 1,298
Default

Using duct seal properly.


Not saying that this would happen in your application but a friend of mine started noticing a dead smell in his basement. A snake had entered his main panel through a pad mount transformer and 200' of conduit and died in there. I'm going to pay real close attention when they install my transformer to see how they seal the conduit.

Advertisement

zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to properly seal a gable vent? Lynch Roofing/Siding 3 08-05-2011 05:39 PM
Help with return air duct gasbie HVAC 4 06-20-2011 07:54 PM
Help with hvac return duct gasbie HVAC 3 06-19-2011 11:44 AM
Raising a suspended heat duct dmarek HVAC 2 04-17-2011 05:57 PM
High Low System?? alacard HVAC 8 04-07-2011 10:39 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts