Used Old Fuse Box As Junction For New Breaker Box - Electrical - Page 8 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2013, 11:36 PM   #106
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: OR
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
All SE cable is 3 wire. SER cable is 4 wire
Looks me to like it's all properly referred to as SE cable, that the distiction you're making is between SEU and SER. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

In any case, this wasn't the question that I asked.

Advertisement

philS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 12:24 AM   #107
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by philS View Post
Looks me to like it's all properly referred to as SE cable, that the distiction you're making is between SEU and SER. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

In any case, this wasn't the question that I asked.
SEU 3 wires SER 4 wires
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:31 AM   #108
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: OR
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
SEU 3 wires SER 4 wires
Good. I'm glad we agree
philS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 11:42 AM   #109
Member
 
hohadcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 270
Rewards Points: 256
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Ok, my work was not clean.... but this was my fix
Attached Thumbnails
used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box-img_20130223_070949.jpg  
hohadcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 01:54 PM   #110
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Western Washington, U.S.A.
Posts: 211
Rewards Points: 156
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


So, did it pass inspection?

You could definitely clean it up a bunch. That might make the inspector have a little more faith in the quality of your work.
dftc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 02:07 PM   #111
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


How about try using wirenuts in place of those terminal strips? Between the terminal strip and the messy work, those are probably the two biggest factors working against you right now.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 07:02 PM   #112
Member
 
hohadcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 270
Rewards Points: 256
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Well, Insurance inspection said never seen it, need a note from an electrician.

Electrician said never seen it, you will have to replace all that.

This world has trained most people to only think in one way,and do things in one way, the way that is shown on text book. People have lost the ability to reason...

So, in the end, to pass insurance by getting an OK from an electrician, I had to take all that down, and let the electrician to totally redo the relay.

Cost me $$$.

Isn't that sad!
hohadcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 07:13 PM   #113
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


No I think there is a certain way things are done because it works, its been tested and approved, and then it gets put in to the books as "this is how you do it." Just because you wanted to do it your way, doesn't make everyone else wrong for saying it can't be done that way. Sure I've seen those terminal strips in a control panel before, but that control panel is listed and approved to use those strips in that manner. Given the situation if it was me I was have used the wire nuts.

Also, I couldn't tell from your picture if you actually extended each and every wire to the new panel, it kinda looks like the grounds and neutrals may have been grouped together. Is your new panel right next to the old fuse box on the right?
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 08:15 PM   #114
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,163
Rewards Points: 2,118
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
SEU 3 wires SER 4 wires
SEU : Two Conductor With Bare Concentric Ground (Formerly referred to as “Three Conductor”)

SER is available as 2 conductor (2 insulated phase conductors, bare ground), 3 conductor (2 insulated phase conductors, insulated neutral, bare equipment ground), or 4 conductor (3 insulated phase conductors, insulated neutral, bare equipment ground)
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 08:49 PM   #115
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,414
Rewards Points: 2,490
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by hohadcr View Post
Well, Insurance inspection said never seen it, need a note from an electrician.

Electrician said never seen it, you will have to replace all that.

This world has trained most people to only think in one way,and do things in one way, the way that is shown on text book. People have lost the ability to reason...

So, in the end, to pass insurance by getting an OK from an electrician, I had to take all that down, and let the electrician to totally redo the relay.

Cost me $$$.

Isn't that sad!
The world does not train people how to do stuff, it is how they teach themselves to learn, and those that teach them how to do stuff, is how they learn to do stuff. Seeing that this thread has been going on for a year now, on the same thing, I cannot see that it has taken up to this point to get it inspected, and find out it was wrong from the beginning.

There is a reason why there are code books, and there is also information available to home owners like the Black & Decker Complete home wiring book, and also some local community colleges have certification courses that you can take, along with trade schools to learn how to do this stuff.

Some like myself have been doing this stuff for over 35 years, and grew up in a family of electricians and contractors, so it is pretty much embedded how to do stuff, and think stuff out before jumping into it. Especially electrical, because it does matter how it is done from the start.

Easiest way to burn a house down, is do electrical incorrect by not following the correct procedures.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 09:14 PM   #116
Member
 
GBrackins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,877
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Easiest way to burn a house down, is do electrical incorrect by not following the correct procedures.
great point greg, that's why in Massachusetts a home owner can build their structure but the electrical permit must be pulled by a state licensed master electrician (doesn't mean they have to do the work) so that someone is responsible and liable for the work when something goes wrong.
__________________
Gary

"You get what you pay for, and sometimes free costs more!"
GBrackins is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 10:00 PM   #117
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,221
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


While that setup is definitely different if those connectors are properly rated I don't see why they'd freak out over it. I still would have used wire nuts though as the closer you stay to "standard" the less trouble they'll give you.

Question is why is your insurance company all over this anyway? You need to tell them "I got my panel changed" not "I changed my panel". It's all in the wording, and it's not really lying either way.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Red Squirrel For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (03-17-2013)
Old 03-17-2013, 10:38 PM   #118
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,414
Rewards Points: 2,490
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
How about try using wirenuts in place of those terminal strips? Between the terminal strip and the messy work, those are probably the two biggest factors working against you right now.
Only time I have seen or used terminal strips, is wiring control panels in the Navy. That is only because you never use wire nuts. Everything is either crimped with heat shrink and coating of 3m rubber coating, or wired to a terminal block. Of course, that is also why Wago came out with their connectors for use in residential and commercial installations, but a one time use only product, unlike a wire nut.

Advertisement

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it possible to change Circuit breaker to Buss fuse socket type? njchen24 Electrical 8 08-07-2011 07:27 PM
Breaker box wiring question(s) janralix Electrical 6 08-29-2010 11:13 PM
AFCI breaker constantly trips gdweaver Electrical 18 03-06-2010 03:12 PM
Splicing Wires in Electrical Breaker Panel airdaleairdale Electrical 14 06-11-2009 08:20 AM
Breaker problem jdhar Electrical 11 06-10-2009 02:18 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts