Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-19-2013, 11:52 AM   #91
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,684
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by hohadcr View Post
=====
My take on this is: Most electricians are educated in school with the standard parts and equipments. They don't think beyond the normal gears to see what really is the code, how to calculate voltage and current and find out if something is really up to code. They only know what they use in class and what they buy from their supply stores.

Thus, the solution we came up with here is foreign to them. They don't even bother to check if this foreign thing is good. They just say NONONO!!

Damm... I wasted all the effort and money... I still need to pay an electrician to redo all the work!!!!
Look at all the time we waste here guys. All we need to do is that simple stuff like voltage and current calculations.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (01-19-2013)
Old 01-19-2013, 01:36 PM   #92
Member
 
hohadcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 270
Rewards Points: 256
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Right now, insurance company's inspector is asking for an electrian's write-off. So far, two electricians looked at it and basically said it has to be redone or no way i will pass it.

They don't bother to show me the codes... either let them redo it or good luck finding one electrician who will be willing to check all the codes and pass it.
hohadcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 01:40 PM   #93
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Can you post pictures of the junction box you have and let us try to help you?
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 01:42 PM   #94
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Most electricians will refuse to sign off on someones work. You may have to get an electrical inspector to sign off on your work.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 02:19 PM   #95
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Let me get this straight. You are looking for an electrician to sign off on your work???
I was wondering why an electrician was involved. No, they don't have to tell you anything. If they look at it and don't like what they see that can just walk.
Personally, when someone calls for this kind of thing, and they do, I just tell them no over the phone. An electrician would be out of his mind to put his name on someone's DIY work.

WHY are you doing it this way anyway? Why not just get it inspected yourself?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 02:55 PM   #96
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Western Washington, U.S.A.
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 154
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


I guess I can't see why you are insisting on doing this a non-standard way when the standard is easy, inexpensive, and proven safe.

I had to turn an old panel into a junction box about a year ago. It wasn't hard and didn't require anything that can't be found in the electrical aisle at any big box store.

I really think that you should just pay someone to do this work for you. This isn't the sort of thing you want to experiment with.
dftc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 03:31 PM   #97
Member
 
hohadcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 270
Rewards Points: 256
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Back then, all electricians quoted $1200+ to do the work, with a lot of plus plus plus if ....

I got to the bottom of it and did it myself. Well, material cost a lot more than I thought.. Just a new panel box was $$$...

Now, insurance wants electrician to write off it. Electrians won't write off it....

Basically, this world has evolved that you shouldn't do anything yourself... Always need to rely on others just to be accepted in the system..

Thank you guys for replying to the thread. I myself is very disappointed with the evolvement ...
hohadcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 03:37 PM   #98
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by hohadcr View Post
Back then, all electricians quoted $1200+ to do the work, with a lot of plus plus plus if ....

I got to the bottom of it and did it myself. Well, material cost a lot more than I thought.. Just a new panel box was $$$...

Now, insurance wants electrician to write off it. Electrians won't write off it....

Basically, this world has evolved that you shouldn't do anything yourself... Always need to rely on others just to be accepted in the system..

Thank you guys for replying to the thread. I myself is very disappointed with the evolvement ...
You could hire an electrical inspector to inspect your work. And you could post pictures here so we can see if we notice anything that should be done different.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 05:29 PM   #99
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by hohadcr View Post
Back then, all electricians quoted $1200+ to do the work, with a lot of plus plus plus if ....

I got to the bottom of it and did it myself. Well, material cost a lot more than I thought.. Just a new panel box was $$$...

Now, insurance wants electrician to write off it. Electrians won't write off it....

Basically, this world has evolved that you shouldn't do anything yourself... Always need to rely on others just to be accepted in the system..

Thank you guys for replying to the thread. I myself is very disappointed with the evolvement ...
Well, you can blame your insurance company for all this then. There is no "system" to be accepted into. The electricians and inspectors have nothing to do with your insurance company. In fact, I find it VERY questionable that your ins co is asking for this. Really what they are asking for is someone to blame if something goes wrong.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 05:30 PM   #100
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
You could hire an electrical inspector to inspect your work. And you could post pictures here so we can see if we notice anything that should be done different.
Apparently that's not good enough for his ins co.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 05:45 PM   #101
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


I am itching to see pictures.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
jbfan (01-19-2013), Jim Port (01-21-2013), Speedy Petey (01-19-2013)
Old 01-21-2013, 10:54 AM   #102
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 296
Rewards Points: 250
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Its been a very long time since I looked at the specs of a wirenut, but every standard wirenut is rated for 600V and does not have an amperage rating. If I remember correctly, a standard red wirenut can fit 2 #8's which would be good for 50A.
I know that I have some that I've been avoided using in fluorescent ballast replacement because they are not rated to 600V. It is kind of a PITA to remember. IIRC, the lesser ones are rated 300V. Yea, I know, they'd probably be fine
ionized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:26 AM   #103
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,857
Rewards Points: 2,110
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by ionized View Post
I know that I have some that I've been avoided using in fluorescent ballast replacement because they are not rated to 600V. It is kind of a PITA to remember. IIRC, the lesser ones are rated 300V. Yea, I know, they'd probably be fine
Baby blue wire nuts are listed at 300 volts.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 07:38 PM   #104
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: OR
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


My god what a thread! But back to an earlier point. In my county, we use a 2 out of 3 rule for meter, panel, and SE cable. If you replace only one, they'll grandfather most things that are not up to current code on the other 2. If you replace 2, you have to replace the third. Makes sense to me (and it saved me a pile of work because my very long SE cable is 3 wire, not 4.) Is that policy unusual?
philS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 09:26 PM   #105
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by philS View Post
My god what a thread! But back to an earlier point. In my county, we use a 2 out of 3 rule for meter, panel, and SE cable. If you replace only one, they'll grandfather most things that are not up to current code on the other 2. If you replace 2, you have to replace the third. Makes sense to me (and it saved me a pile of work because my very long SE cable is 3 wire, not 4.) Is that policy unusual?
All SE cable is 3 wire. SER cable is 4 wire

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.

Last edited by rrolleston; 01-21-2013 at 09:31 PM.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it possible to change Circuit breaker to Buss fuse socket type? njchen24 Electrical 8 08-07-2011 06:27 PM
Breaker box wiring question(s) janralix Electrical 6 08-29-2010 10:13 PM
AFCI breaker constantly trips gdweaver Electrical 18 03-06-2010 02:12 PM
Splicing Wires in Electrical Breaker Panel airdaleairdale Electrical 14 06-11-2009 07:20 AM
Breaker problem jdhar Electrical 11 06-10-2009 01:18 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.