Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-12-2012, 08:17 AM   #76
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Oh , I don't have electrical tape...guess this duct tape will do.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 08:23 AM   #77
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,345
Rewards Points: 688
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Maybe things are different in Canada than in 84,Pa.15330,But that doesn't sound like a code approved tap.15 amp off a 100 amp wire. Or am I missing something.
bobelectric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 08:51 AM   #78
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
While these are sometimes easier to get, I am always afraid of DIYers taping up bugs. I have seen some scary bug taping jobs in my day, and one actually put me out of work for two weeks.
What happened?????? And pretty scary the stuff we all come across, not just DIY items either.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 09:30 AM   #79
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


In a department store lighting panel, 100A, the feeders were spliced through to a contactor after the fact to control the panel. I did not see the bare spot at the back of the bug. I was carefully trying to push the wire back into the panel to put the cover on and the bare spot hit the edge of the panel, right under my hand. Burned a deep hole in the palm of my hand and 3d deg burns all around my fingers.
I was only in the trade about 5 years at the time.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.

Last edited by Speedy Petey; 08-12-2012 at 09:53 AM. Reason: typo
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 09:38 AM   #80
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,173
Rewards Points: 2,256
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
In a department store lighting panel, 100A, the feeders were spliced through to a contactor after the fact to control the panel. I did not see the bare spot at the back of the bug. I was carefully trying to push the wire back into the panel to put the cover on and the bar spot hit the edge of the panel, right under my hand. Burned a deep hole in the palm of my hand and 3d deg burns all around my fingers.
I was only in the trade about 5 years at the time.
Even professionals get hurt working in live panels. For us DIYers, turn the panel off before you open it.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 09:44 AM   #81
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Even professionals get killed working in live panels. For us DIYers, turn the panel off before you open it.
Fixed it for you.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
rjniles (08-12-2012)
Old 08-12-2012, 09:49 AM   #82
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Sadly most don't wear the required PPE...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (08-12-2012)
Old 08-12-2012, 10:46 AM   #83
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,835
Rewards Points: 2,468
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Sadly most don't wear the required PPE...
What is even worse would be if the worker was told to work it hot or get out of the trade or off the job.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 12:00 PM   #84
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
What is even worse would be if the worker was told to work it hot or get out of the trade or off the job.
Absolutely... Most of it stems from bad habits, or I've performed this work hundreds of times energized, in reality, it truly is just a matter of time before someone is just not so lucky.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 09:17 AM   #85
Member
 
hohadcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 270
Rewards Points: 256
Unhappy

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


So, I did use the old box as a junction box, and used the connector shown in #64.

Now, inspector came, and sent another electrician to come to see.

Both said: never seen anything like this. This is crazy.

I said: It may not be the usual way, but all the connectors are well above standard (300V+, 20A+). There is no problem having wire nuts in an enclosed metal box.

Certified Electrician said: No way in a million years, that I will approve this. You have to get it all taken out and just do the normal panel box. $700+tax.

=====
My take on this is: Most electricians are educated in school with the standard parts and equipments. They don't think beyond the normal gears to see what really is the code, how to calculate voltage and current and find out if something is really up to code. They only know what they use in class and what they buy from their supply stores.

Thus, the solution we came up with here is foreign to them. They don't even bother to check if this foreign thing is good. They just say NONONO!!

Damm... I wasted all the effort and money... I still need to pay an electrician to redo all the work!!!!
hohadcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 09:23 AM   #86
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,835
Rewards Points: 2,468
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Did they tell you why what you did would not pass and the code article it violated?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 09:31 AM   #87
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Did they tell you why what you did would not pass and the code article it violated?
I would have my code pdf ready and demand a code reference.

My only question would be did you tie all the grounds together on the ground bar.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 11:00 AM   #88
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by hohadcr View Post
=====
My take on this is: Most electricians are educated in school with the standard parts and equipments. They don't think beyond the normal gears to see what really is the code, how to calculate voltage and current and find out if something is really up to code. They only know what they use in class and what they buy from their supply stores.
Well, your take on it is for the most part, WRONG.
I'm also not sure what you mean by "calculate voltage and current". That one is new to me.



Quote:
Originally Posted by hohadcr View Post
Thus, the solution we came up with here is foreign to them. They don't even bother to check if this foreign thing is good. They just say NONONO!!

Damm... I wasted all the effort and money... I still need to pay an electrician to redo all the work!!!!
Code is code. Did you bother to ask what it was that was non-complaint? Or did you simply take their word on it?
They CANNOT simply fail something because they don't like it.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 11:02 AM   #89
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Considering the over-thinking of this whole project, I am curious to see what they thought was a violation.
Do you have any pics of the final product?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 11:33 AM   #90
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
It may not be the usual way, but all the connectors are well above standard (300V+, 20A+).
Its been a very long time since I looked at the specs of a wirenut, but every standard wirenut is rated for 600V and does not have an amperage rating. If I remember correctly, a standard red wirenut can fit 2 #8's which would be good for 50A.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it possible to change Circuit breaker to Buss fuse socket type? njchen24 Electrical 8 08-07-2011 07:27 PM
Breaker box wiring question(s) janralix Electrical 6 08-29-2010 11:13 PM
AFCI breaker constantly trips gdweaver Electrical 18 03-06-2010 03:12 PM
Splicing Wires in Electrical Breaker Panel airdaleairdale Electrical 14 06-11-2009 08:20 AM
Breaker problem jdhar Electrical 11 06-10-2009 02:18 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.