Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-28-2012, 12:09 AM   #31
Member
 
Gymschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Eastern Ohio (heart of Appalachia)
Posts: 2,998
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Really? And you have this on good authority?
You've seen it happen? Did the insurance police come knocking asking to see your fuse box?

WHY would the insurance company even be aware of this??????
Yes, I was told I had ONE week to remove the fuse box or the insurance company would drop me. It has happened to numerous homeowners in my surrounding area and includes all the name brand ins. companies.

Gymschu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 07:33 PM   #32
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gymschu View Post
Yes, I was told I had ONE week to remove the fuse box or the insurance company would drop me. It has happened to numerous homeowners in my surrounding area and includes all the name brand ins. companies.
That is complete bullsh*t on the insurance conpanies part. Find a new insurance company. Absolutely nothing wrong with fuses.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 09:23 AM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gymschu View Post
Yes, I was told I had ONE week to remove the fuse box or the insurance company would drop me. It has happened to numerous homeowners in my surrounding area and includes all the name brand ins. companies.
How did they know you had a fuse box?
Eds_tls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 09:25 AM   #34
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
That is complete bullsh*t on the insurance conpanies part. Find a new insurance company. Absolutely nothing wrong with fuses.
It's a liability they don't want, you know damn well people install the wrong size fuse all the time, you know how many 30 amp fuses I find installed on a 15 amp circuit?
Never mind the countless pennies and other foreign objects used to complete the circuit.

I don't blame the insurance company one bit! And I really don't think you will find a insurance company that doesn't follow this protocol.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 07-29-2012 at 09:29 AM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 05:33 PM   #35
Member
 
Gymschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Eastern Ohio (heart of Appalachia)
Posts: 2,998
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Every insurance co. I know sends out an inspector before insuring your home. This happened many years ago and it still happens. My nephew recently bought a home and his future ins. co. said they would not insure the home if the roof was more than 15 years old!
Gymschu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 05:37 PM   #36
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


You have to remember, insurance companies, like ANY company, are out to make money, so if they are always paying claims, that company will fail, it's all about good investing, and they tend to increase those odds or walk... We all do the same thing in life.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 06:08 PM   #37
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
It's a liability they don't want, you know damn well people install the wrong size fuse all the time, you know how many 30 amp fuses I find installed on a 15 amp circuit?
Never mind the countless pennies and other foreign objects used to complete the circuit.
It's not much harder to install a larger breaker than to insert a larger fuse. It's certainly easier and safer to install a breaker than to shove an object into the fuse base.
Phildaglass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 06:10 PM   #38
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Phildaglass View Post
It's not much harder to install a larger breaker than to insert a larger fuse. It's certainly easier and safer to install a breaker than to shove an object into the fuse base.
seriously? you dont think its MUCH more likely to simply unscrew a fuse and screw a larger size in its place? 9/10 times the circuit is already overloaded due to its original installation date and much heavier loads that we have today.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 06:13 PM   #39
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
seriously? you dont think its MUCH more likely to simply unscrew a fuse and screw a larger size in its place?
If someone is having a problem and they are willing to hack it, I don't see it being that much different. I have personally found many #14's on 20A breakers in my time.
Phildaglass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 06:14 PM   #40
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Phildaglass View Post
If someone is having a problem and they are willing to hack it, I don't see it being that much different. I have personally found many #14's on 20A breakers in my time.
You're missing the point i'm afraid.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 06:17 PM   #41
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
You're missing the point i'm afraid.
I don't think so.

You are saying that fuseboxes are bad because people can use larger fuses or insert objects into the socket. I said that people can easily use larger breakers in a modern panel for the same effect.

What's the difference between someone going to Home Depot and picking up a larger fuse and them going there and picking up a larger breaker?
Phildaglass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 06:26 PM   #42
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Phildaglass View Post
I don't think so.

You are saying that fuseboxes are bad because people can use larger fuses or insert objects into the socket. I said that people can easily use larger breakers in a modern panel for the same effect.

What's the difference between someone going to Home Depot and picking up a larger fuse and them going there and picking up a larger breaker?
This is obviously too hard for you to grasp, when a fuse blows they need to change it, most likely they are going to install whatever size they have laying on top of the panel, weather it be a 15, 20 or 30, not until 1968 did the NEC mandate that type 'S' fuses be used, these are not interchangeable because of the thread size...

You are talking about something that is not the same as I am. The LIKELIHOOD that the incorrect size fuse gets installed is MUCH higher then the scenario you describe.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 07-29-2012 at 06:30 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 06:33 PM   #43
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
This is obviously too hard for you to grasp,
Wow, good job acting like an adult. Is something that I said really that bad that you had to insult me? Is that acceptable here? If I knew that people would be childish and insulting when they disagreed with you I would have chosen another forum to join.

Quote:
when a fuse blows they need to change it, most likely they are going to install whatever size they have laying on top of the panel, weather it be a 15, 20 or 30, not until 1968 did the NEC mandate that type 'S' fuses be used, these are not interchangeable because of the thread size...

You are talking about something that is not the same as I am.
We are talking about the same exact thing. Not everyone has fuses sitting on top of their panel nor do they have larger fuses than their typical branch circuits. It's very likely that they would have to go out to the store to buy a fuse, and that is not so far off from going to the store to buy a breaker. In both cases, someone can instal a larger OCPD.

Whether it's a fuse box or breaker panel, if someone is overloading a circuit and facilitating the use of the OCPD, they can (and many times will) install a larger model.

I simply do not share your opinion that a fuse box is more dangerous than a breaker panel solely because someone can install a larger OCPD.

Quote:
The LIKELIHOOD that the incorrect size fuse gets installed is MUCH higher then the scenario you describe.
And that is what I disagree with. If someone is willing to go buy a larger fuse, then they would most likely also be willing to go buy a larger breaker. I have backed up my opinion with real world experience.
Phildaglass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 06:34 PM   #44
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Phildaglass View Post
Wow, good job acting like an adult. Is something that I said really that bad that you had to insult me? Is that acceptable here? If I knew that people would be childish and insulting when they disagreed with you I would have chosen another forum to join.

and I apologize if you took my words to strongly to heart, it was not my intent to belittle you.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 07-29-2012 at 06:54 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 06:37 PM   #45
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

used old fuse box as junction for new breaker box


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Well, the insurance company agrees with me.
I'm not sure what "the insurance company" is. MY insurance company doesn't agree with you. No insurance company that I know of does either. If one that you use agrees with your position, then that is fine, but I do not base my opinions off of insurance companies.

I've had many jobs removing old disconnected knob and tube wiring just because an insurance company said it can't be there. It cost the homeowner a lot of money to have all traces of it completely removed, the insurance company didn't care if it was completely disconnected by a licensed electrician, they wanted it removed.

Insurance companies aren't the end all be all of electrical work.

Phildaglass is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it possible to change Circuit breaker to Buss fuse socket type? njchen24 Electrical 8 08-07-2011 07:27 PM
Breaker box wiring question(s) janralix Electrical 6 08-29-2010 11:13 PM
AFCI breaker constantly trips gdweaver Electrical 18 03-06-2010 03:12 PM
Splicing Wires in Electrical Breaker Panel airdaleairdale Electrical 14 06-11-2009 08:20 AM
Breaker problem jdhar Electrical 11 06-10-2009 02:18 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.