Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-29-2008, 10:24 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 21
Share |
Default

Use of unsheathed Romex NM-B wires in conduit?


Quick question:

I need to drop three circuits down a concrete basement wall to two adjacent 4 x 4 receptacle boxes I'll be mounting on the wall. I want to protect the wires along the wall within one run of 3/4" EMT. Can I just bring the NM-B cables into a junction box mounted near the ceiling and strip off 4-5 feet of sheathing from these cables and drop the individual wires through the conduit to the boxes?

Fill restrictions prevent me from running the whole NM cables within the conduit. Basically, I want to know if I can avoid having to splice in actual THHN/THWN wire at the junction box for the drop through the conduit (the wires within the Romex cable are not marked as to their specifications). I'll use a separate insulated green ground wire through the conduit, so I can splice all the grounds together in the junction box and just run one ground wire to the boxes.

Thanks for your help.

WoodworkerDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 10:52 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,344
Default

Use of unsheathed Romex NM-B wires in conduit?


Idividual wires in NM-B are not rated for conduit use.

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 11:00 AM   #3
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Use of unsheathed Romex NM-B wires in conduit?


Agreed. No can do.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 11:10 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 21
Default

Use of unsheathed Romex NM-B wires in conduit?


Thanks. I'll be buying some THHN/THWN wires for the drop.
WoodworkerDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 11:23 AM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,851
Default

Use of unsheathed Romex NM-B wires in conduit?


Conduit fill requirements do not apply to short lengths of conduit that are not emerging from grade and the conduit is only being used for physical protection. See note 2 chapter nine.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 12:54 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 21
Default

Use of unsheathed Romex NM-B wires in conduit?


Thanks Stubbie. I guess I forgot about that note when I first read it a while back. So this means I can put a suitable cable clamp at the top of the conduit and run the 3 NM cables directly down to the outlet boxes. This will be so much easier. Thanks again.
WoodworkerDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 01:09 PM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,851
Default

Use of unsheathed Romex NM-B wires in conduit?


Yep. alot of guys just put on a emt box connector and then thread on a plastic bushing to handle any abrasion issue where the cables enter emt. I actually think it is a code requirement to do so.


Two types I use


and
with this....
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 03:17 PM   #8
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Use of unsheathed Romex NM-B wires in conduit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Yep. alot of guys just put on a emt box connector and then thread on a plastic bushing to handle any abrasion issue where the cables enter emt. I actually think it is a code requirement to do so.


Two types I use


and
with this....
A bushing is a code requirement for protection of the wire. I use the cheapo plastic ones.

Sorry, I failed to thoroughly read the original post that said that this was a very short length of conduit indoors...My bad. Glad Stubbie got to you before you bought the THHN.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 05:21 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Use of unsheathed Romex NM-B wires in conduit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by thekctermite View Post

Sorry, I failed to thoroughly read the original post that said that this was a very short length of conduit indoors...

Who cares if its a short run, you can still use NM in conduit as long as the fill requirement is met.


Never mind, I agree with Stubbie.

Last edited by chris75; 09-29-2008 at 05:56 PM.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 05:47 PM   #10
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,344
Default

Use of unsheathed Romex NM-B wires in conduit?


I don't think you will fit 3 NM cables into a 3/4 conduit.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 05:57 PM   #11
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Use of unsheathed Romex NM-B wires in conduit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
I don't think you will fit 3 NM cables into a 3/4 conduit.
Sure you will, 3/4 is huge.

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cost Difference Between Conduit & Romex Shawns4 Electrical 39 08-25-2008 05:01 PM
running wires in a conduit analogmusicman Electrical 50 07-13-2008 08:49 AM
Conduit Fill & Ampacity capndave Electrical 37 03-26-2008 02:16 PM
How many wires in 1/2" conduit? alvanos Electrical 17 02-26-2008 03:37 PM
Romex in Conduit?/Grounding bisonman Electrical 5 12-30-2005 04:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.