Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-27-2012, 11:27 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 41
Share |
Default

Use last switch in 3 way for power to separate lights?


Hi,

I have a three way switch. The config is power running to switch 1 which then runs to light fixture and then to switch 2. I have a totally separate light that needs power. Is there a way to pull power from switch 2 in my 3 way or do I have to run a line back into switch 1 and tail the light before it even gets to switch 1. Just looking to save some wiring but also want to be safe and follow code. Thanks.

Mike

heyjoe91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 11:41 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 768
Default

Use last switch in 3 way for power to separate lights?


no, I don't believe so. I believe the only unswitched power you have is at switch 1.

oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 11:55 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 41
Default

Use last switch in 3 way for power to separate lights?


Thanks. That is what I thought but just wanted to make sure. I've done a ton of electrical work but not much with three way switches.
heyjoe91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 12:20 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Use last switch in 3 way for power to separate lights?


Are you sure switch #1 has the ALWAYS HOT conductor at the common terminal and switch #2 has the switched hot? Is this your setup??
Attached Thumbnails
Use last switch in 3 way for power to separate lights?-switch-load-switch.jpg  

Last edited by hammerlane; 08-27-2012 at 12:29 PM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 12:51 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 41
Default

Use last switch in 3 way for power to separate lights?


This looks like my setup. Only difference (doesn't really make a difference) is that instead of an outlet in the middle it is a light. Switch #1 has a black and white coming from the breaker. The black is actually tailed off for a few other outlets. There is 14-3 coming from the light (I'm assuming since I didn't take down the light). Switch #2 has only three wires coming into the box so I'm assuming they are coming from the light. Does this make sense?
heyjoe91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 01:04 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Use last switch in 3 way for power to separate lights?


Quote:
Originally Posted by heyjoe91 View Post
This looks like my setup. Only difference (doesn't really make a difference) is that instead of an outlet in the middle it is a light.
that was a diagram I had on my computer...yes as you guessed outlet or light doesnt make a difference....still a device
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 01:06 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 41
Default

Use last switch in 3 way for power to separate lights?


So with this setup is there no way to pull power from the last switch and run a completely independent switch and light?
heyjoe91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 01:13 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Use last switch in 3 way for power to separate lights?


No. You have no constant power at switch #2 and no neutral.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 01:26 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 41
Default

Use last switch in 3 way for power to separate lights?


Thanks so much for you help. Much appreciated.

heyjoe91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
existing switch for new lights eatonjr907 Electrical 16 04-23-2012 01:09 PM
4 way switch setup with multiple runs of lights CapeCod153 Electrical 23 03-28-2012 02:27 PM
Use factory fog light switch for aftermarket lights? downunder Automotive Repairs 6 07-10-2010 11:45 AM
Light switch installation problems pc_clone Electrical 8 11-30-2009 09:25 PM
HowTo: Adding two exterior lights + switch, piggyback new switch off existing switch? ghost Electrical 14 04-19-2009 05:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.