Is Use-2 Ok To Feed A Sub Panel With - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2013, 06:30 PM   #1
macon, ga bibb county
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: macon ga
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

is Use-2 ok to feed a sub panel with


I'm trying to find out if it is ok to run #4 aluminum use-2 as a feeder for a shed/shop 60amp sub panel. If I understood the nec correctly #4 is only rated at 55 amps at 60degrees,so I would need #3 correct?

Advertisement

Lupus71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 07:39 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

is Use-2 ok to feed a sub panel with


1) Are you feeding this underground? Type USE wire is for underground installations.

2) Is your total connected load 55 Amps or less? If so, then you can still use a 60 Amp breaker on the #4 wire.

Advertisement

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 08:33 PM   #3
macon, ga bibb county
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: macon ga
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

is Use-2 ok to feed a sub panel with


Yes it's underground. Im not sure this is what you meant but I won't be using 55 amps at one time. It doesn't seem like the inspector would allow the 60 amp breaker, but that's why I'm on here!
Lupus71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 08:40 PM   #4
macon, ga bibb county
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: macon ga
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

is Use-2 ok to feed a sub panel with


These are the main tools that will be in there.I'm not %100 on the lighting yet.

is  Use-2 ok to feed a sub panel with-image-2967264786.jpg
Lupus71 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Lupus71 For This Useful Post:
Stubbie (02-26-2013)
Old 02-26-2013, 10:01 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

is Use-2 ok to feed a sub panel with


How many of these machines will be operating all at once?

You do not have to include non-coincident loads -- only the largest one if the machines will be used one at a time.

Remember when figuring load calculations, you want to use "240 Volts" as your system voltage. Also, watts = Volts x Amps.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 07:01 AM   #6
macon, ga bibb county
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: macon ga
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

is Use-2 ok to feed a sub panel with


Looks like it will be 35 amps.
Lupus71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 05:31 PM   #7
macon, ga bibb county
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: macon ga
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

is Use-2 ok to feed a sub panel with


So the use-2 is ok to feed a 60 amp sub panel from my current panel even though it's rated at 55?
Lupus71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 06:02 PM   #8
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

is Use-2 ok to feed a sub panel with


only if the expected load is under 55 amps, because '55 Amps' is not a standard overcurrent protection size.
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 07:03 PM   #9
macon, ga bibb county
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: macon ga
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

is Use-2 ok to feed a sub panel with


Ok thanks! Im trying to get everything right the first time around.

Advertisement

Lupus71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
distribution panel amperage rating tom31415926 Electrical 10 08-26-2012 05:09 PM
Sub Panel GND and mixed 240/120 VAC branch curiousB Electrical 12 01-17-2012 11:49 AM
Critique my Sub Panel rjniles Electrical 18 05-18-2011 12:31 AM
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 11:39 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 08:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.
<--
-->