Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-20-2007, 08:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

URGENT:problem with power supply to amplifiers


I have 6 amplifiers connected in series, running at 16A continuous rating.
And I have a single electrical line of 20A@240V.
Do u guys have any idea how to fire all of them at a time.
Can I just plug in each amplifier in 6 different recepticles so that they each get 16A of current simultaneously?
Help me out guys its as important as my life!!

mdhek001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 06:38 AM   #2
Agent 000
 
SecretSquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 334
Default

URGENT:problem with power supply to amplifiers


Your description is a little confusing.

Does each individual amplifier draw 16 amps or do all 6 amplifiers collectively draw 16 amps (2.67 amps each)? And how do you know what they draw? These are 240V amplifiers... correct?

Your 20 amp circuit can safely provide 15 continous running amps according to the 25% safety factor... but you may be able to push a little more although this is a gamble.


Last edited by SecretSquirrel; 08-21-2007 at 06:52 AM.
SecretSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 09:39 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Default

URGENT:problem with power supply to amplifiers


thank you SecretSquirrel,
my amplifiers draws 16A individually. so together they might draw 6*16A
yeah you r right, i dont know that they draw 16A in continuous running. But itis written in spec sheet that they each draw 16A peak running.
In that case also what u said is correct?

Last edited by mdhek001; 08-21-2007 at 09:41 AM.
mdhek001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 09:46 AM   #4
Agent 000
 
SecretSquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 334
Default

URGENT:problem with power supply to amplifiers


I think my math was bad.

16 amps * 1.25 (safety factor) = 20 amps

20 amps / 1.25 (safety factor) = 16 amps

So you should be fine running each individual amplifier on its own 20 amp circuit.
SecretSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 10:00 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Default

URGENT:problem with power supply to amplifiers


but i have only one line of 20A@ 240V
so should I provide 6 different recepticles in same line to plug each amplifer in each recepticle, will that work?
mdhek001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 10:10 AM   #6
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,770
Default

URGENT:problem with power supply to amplifiers


What type of amplifier draws 16AMPS? What are you amplifying? Is this for a residential application? Does each need 16Amps @ 240V or 120V?
If you do actually need 6 20AMP circuits, then you need 6 homeruns to the panel, each on it's own breaker. Is your panel size big enough?
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.

Last edited by Clutchcargo; 08-21-2007 at 10:12 AM.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 10:15 AM   #7
Agent 000
 
SecretSquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 334
Default

URGENT:problem with power supply to amplifiers


Quote:
Originally Posted by mdhek001 View Post
but i have only one line of 20A@ 240V
so should I provide 6 different recepticles in same line to plug each amplifer in each recepticle, will that work?
Nope! If one amplifier draws 16 amps @ 240volts then you will need 1 - 20 amp circuit per amplifier.

Now... I want to make sure I completely understand what you're doing. What kind of amplifiers are these? Could it be possible that you are refering to the "output" of each amplifier when you said 16 amps? A little more info please, like the amplifier make and model number.
SecretSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 12:06 PM   #8
Custom Cabinet Maker
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Netcong NJ
Posts: 1,097
Default

URGENT:problem with power supply to amplifiers


SS; hmmmmm seems to need a small power station here :}
Also, wouldn't he be better off wiring in parallel? Man I run my entire shop on way less power than this! TS,shaper,radial arm,drill press,band saw, hand tools etc etc
skymaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 12:13 PM   #9
Agent 000
 
SecretSquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 334
Default

URGENT:problem with power supply to amplifiers


Quote:
Originally Posted by skymaster View Post
SS; hmmmmm seems to need a small power station here :}
Also, wouldn't he be better off wiring in parallel? Man I run my entire shop on way less power than this! TS,shaper,radial arm,drill press,band saw, hand tools etc etc
I don't know if he's rigging up a Rolling Stones concert or playing with some Radio Shack power supplies. Until he replies back it all remains in question.
SecretSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 12:39 PM   #10
Custom Cabinet Maker
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Netcong NJ
Posts: 1,097
Default

URGENT:problem with power supply to amplifiers


ROFLMAO "Everything remains in question" hmmmmmmm mental state or lack thereof included? LOL LOL
skymaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 11:15 PM   #11
Rze
Average Joe
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 53
Default

URGENT:problem with power supply to amplifiers


I DJ part time and can fill a large banquest hall with much less power (1 20 amp outlet). As a matter of fact I have filled a high school football stadium with a crown amplifier and a pyramid applifyier (700 watts each) with no problem. (1 20 amp outlet) (Oh and I occasionally power a LCD projector also)
Rze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2007, 06:13 AM   #12
Agent 000
 
SecretSquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 334
Default

URGENT:problem with power supply to amplifiers


Quote:
Originally Posted by mdhek001 View Post
Help me out guys its as important as my life!!
I wonder if the patient is still with us?
SecretSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2007, 08:42 AM   #13
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,980
Default

URGENT:problem with power supply to amplifiers


Looks like he is gone. I'm thinking he has a few problems. A 16 amp input for an amplifier makes it a big honker as they say. I can't imagine what you would do with 6 of them. I was at a high end home the other day with a many thousand dollar home entertainment center. He had a 1400 watt amp that cost around 4 grand. So I'm not sure what's up with the op. I was waiting to see if he would reply to your inquiry about the make and model of his amplifiers..

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2007, 04:35 PM   #14
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,139
Default

URGENT:problem with power supply to amplifiers


Before I was an electrician i used to do the live sound thing. I am curious myself what model his amps are. I doubt if he will need 120A of power though. Most audio for the big arena concerts run on either a 100A or a 200A service.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
test new power supply? darsunt PC Repairs & Upgrades 8 09-08-2007 07:04 PM
Need a new power supply Alan PC Repairs & Upgrades 18 06-15-2007 12:57 AM
Turning main power supply off from the meter amakarevic Electrical 2 05-22-2007 10:33 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.