Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-18-2010, 12:58 PM   #16
Seasoned DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 187
Rewards Points: 150
Default

UPS tripping 20A GFCI in basement


You could float the ground pin, then use a mA meter to measure the current going to ground.

IT equipment are FCC listed for both home and office(commercial) use, but that only covers EMF noise considerations. Computer equipment rooms are not GFCI'd and many IT support equipment are not designed to be used downstream of highly sensitive residential GFCI.
Attached Thumbnails
UPS tripping 20A GFCI in basement-rep1-5.jpg  

HVAC_NW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 02:27 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

UPS tripping 20A GFCI in basement


A UPS does lots of things that a GFI does not like -- as mentioned in posts above: bad power factor, leaky grounds, high inrush.

In the past, we have used "power conditions" to clean up nasty conditions like these. You want a passive "resonant" conditioner that is basically a giant coil (transformer) and capacitor that resonate at 60 Hz. You put this inline and it cleans up voltage/current phase shifts and sudden changes well. It is not a voltage regulator per se, and not a surge protector.

Or, try a different brand of GFCI. They all behave differently.

cow_duo
cow_duo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 03:35 PM   #18
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,825
Rewards Points: 2,444
Blog Entries: 4
Default

UPS tripping 20A GFCI in basement


This post is 3 years old. I hope the issue is resolved by now.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (07-27-2013), jbfan (07-27-2013), Speedy Petey (07-27-2013)
Reply

Tags
ups gfci trip


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cutting out a concrete basement floor jeffhoward001 Building & Construction 21 01-17-2012 08:51 PM
Arcfault GFCI breaker tripping shogy Electrical 4 10-17-2009 02:28 PM
GFCI Trips campbellpt Electrical 28 11-21-2008 03:06 PM
new gfci on new circuit pops rtoni Electrical 39 11-15-2008 10:18 AM
having trouble with the gfci tripping paul110h Electrical 37 06-12-2008 10:30 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.